Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Ryuguden

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The room was large, spacious, comfortable and very clean. It had an excellent view of the lake and mountains, as did the hotel in general. The food was good, although not great (for dinner we had prebooked a set menu, which left us no ability to choose options and we'd rather had our fill of cold fishy dishes by this stage in our trip). Breakfast was very good though. The onsen was also very pleasant. Our visit was let down by our arrival and the location of the hotel far away from other parts of Hakone- and the limited public transport to and from the hotel. The day before our arrival the hotel sent us a message about a shuttle service from Odawara station. We asked to reserve a place but received no reply. We messaged again on the train in the morning but still received no reply. When we arrived we called the hotel but by the time they explained where the bus was (confusingly the station has two exits and we were at the wrong side) we arrived at the right place only to see it leaving - a minute early, and despite being on the phone to the hotel explaining we were looking for it. There wasn't another shuttle for 2 hours, so we waited for a public bus, which then took a very circuitous route and got stuck in traffic. We eventually arrived nearly three hours later than planned. There isn't much of interest around the hotel and the public transport is slow and infrequent so it wasn't a good base to explore the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Beautiful lake views from our hotel room and great traditional Japanese dinner and breakfast meals provided.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Amazing view with traditional Japan room

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was amazing. I loved the room and the view that came with it. I wasn't overly thrilled about the beds on the floor but that is because I am used to something else. It was still a unique experience that needed to be had. It was close enough to town and the shrine that we could walk. The dinner was really good as was the breakfast. The hotel was accommodating to adjust the food requirements to my pregnant wife by fully cooking or switching dishes that she could eat. It comes with a hefty price but for what you get it is well worth it.
5 out of 5
by Jeffery

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

Ryuguden

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great ambience, very relaxing. Excellent food and service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by ANGELA

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful location. Excellent service and very attentive and helpful staff. Very authentic.The young lady that checked us in and showed us to our room was delightful. Would have been great to have had the option to choose or not have half board, and therefore giving to price options when booking. Apart from this Ryuguden was a real treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A true Ryokan experience

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Absolutely amazing experience from being greeted outside the door to the rooms with names. The staff is absolutely amazing and accommodating. Dinner was 9 courses of traditional fare and the staff was willing to add some miso in case our kids didnt like the offerings (which they did mostly). The rooms have true picture windows and in the morning we got a real treat with Mt Fuji in all its glory. The springs are gender split but in this ryokan they are indoor only. Suggest walking to the outdoor one in the adjacent prince hotel.
5 out of 5
by Cheung Kwan

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Astonishing view and mt Fuji and lake.