Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
#1. Location far away from station. Very hard to find the hotel because of poor sign and no direction. #2. NOT clean. No making the bed and no cleaning thru-out our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place, hotel does not match.

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Hakone area was great and the 3 day pass for transport was excellent, as was the bag delivery service from the rail station. Unfortunately the Hotel did not match. English was basically non existent, restaurant not functionally the first night and very expensive for the meal, use the local Family Mart store. The shuttle bus only went between 3 hotels and their car parks. The room was very good and the views excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Very nice and comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Spacious room and clean
Cons: Information needs in English besides Japanese
Location: Was a bit confusing to find. Name of hotel only in Japanese. Was close to areas we wanted to visit
Helpful staff. Some staff spoke English. Olsen was very nice. Buffet breakfast was more than we expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Overall it was okay. The place is dated but clean. If you decide to swim make sutra d bring a swimming cap or you must purchase one. Theonsen was good and hit. Had the western breakfast and it was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best avoided. Bad smell. Rude staff.Old decor.

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Wotif
This place is impossible to find. Do not attempt to find it on foot or public transport. I called the Hotel and asked for directions, but was rudely told off and stated "can't speak english". When asked if they could call a taxi for me( I'll be paying of course), they bluntly said do it yourself. When I finally found the place( after 4 hours), the staff were very rude and unfriendly. I was also told I could'nt have dinner there as I did not have a reservation( I arrived there approx 545PM). There seems to be no places to eat around there, apart from the hotel where you are staying. Surprisingly though , the staff could speak english now, which previously they said they could'nt. I agree with other reviewers, the place had a musty, damp, fungal like odour. Not great for asthmatics. The smell is really terrible!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, but location might be hard to find

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet place
Cons: Directions would be very helpful. Visitors would definitely find it easier to reach this place if told about the shuttle service.
Staff were friendly, and facilities were clean, but hotel seems a bit old. Location might be hard to find, and visitors should know that it is near Hakone Kowakien Yunessun, and there is a shuttle service between this hotel and the Hakone Kowakien Yunessun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First stay in Japan

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is getting a little warm, but very clean and good sized rooms. If you do not speak Japanese be sure to have Google Translate with you as very limited English is spoken at the hotel. Beautiful area to walk and explore, just be ready for the streep hills. High speed wireless in the rooms was EXTREMELY fast (speed test was showing over 18 Mbps when I stopped the test) which was very helpful for downloading business presentations. Breakfast was very good - really enjoyed the mix of Japanese and western styles)
4 out of 5
by Luis Arturo from México

Good stay

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
It was good. In the web page is missing directions to get to the hotel by bus from a train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels