Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Closed for good. Please don't book.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The location to the railway terminal.
Cons: It was closed permanently. I had to go to another hotel which was actually still in business.
Location: Halden is a wonderful Norwegian coast / fjørd area with a grand fort at the top of the town. There are plenty of places for meals. Great walks.
PLEASE EXPEDIA - I have read your guidelines for reviews. PLEASE READ BELOW. There is NO swearing, there is NO pricing OR private information being mentioned below - SO it's NOT against your Guidelines. If you believe the following does contain any of the above - please tell so I can fix this - please don't send a "Please resubmit (but don't do mention of the above). It's not. It's the truth. FOR THE INFORMATION OF PROSPECTIVE CLIENTS - Expedia and Best Western Hotel chain failed to inform me that my hotel booked in March 2016 had since closed in the meantime (October 2016). At this time there is no known reopening. May I suggest you use another hotel in Halden, Norway. EXPEDIA PLEASE NOTE - AS YOU CAN READ - There is NO swearing. There are no PERSONAL names, there is NO pricing in the review above. I am advising prospective clients to only try another hotel as the Best Western Plus, Halden, Norway is NOT open any more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent beds, great service, close to the railway station and easy to find.
1 out of 5
by zita

Family room no. 217

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on RatesToGo
Family of 4 with 2 children. The named room (no. 217) is placed straight above the bar below. Isolation between the bar and room 217 was very bad. Music and people talking held us awake til 02:30 hrs. in the morning.. VERY BAD... I talked to the receptionist around 01:00 hrs., no better.. Expect compensation We paid NOK 1272,. for one night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Grand, Halden, Immediately opposite the statio

Posted Jun 5, 2011 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful reception. Comfortable room. Good breakfast. Would have liked the towels changed though.
3 out of 5
by Lena from SCRC (Southern Cruisers Riding Club: mc-förening) i Alingsås

KALLT

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Mycket trevligt bemötande och ett mysigt hotell. MEEN: Rummet kallt trots att huvudelementet stod på 26grader. Toaletten hyfsat varm med elementet på 30gr. När båda elementen i rummet stod på över 30gr blev det däremot alldeles för varmt. Sällskapsrummet en trappa ner var så kallt att man frös med YTTERKLÄDER på.....
5 out of 5
by Per-Gunnar

Sjarmerende hotell

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
Vår reservasjon var kommet bort da vi ankom, men en svært hyggelig resepsjonist var behjelpelig og vi ble tatt godt hånd om. Hun var også svært behjelpelig med å finne nærmeste restaurant og forklare veien til festningen. Et utrolig sjarmerende hotell, og komfortabelt til tross for "høy alder"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Ganske fint hotel, god morgenmadsbuffet. Desværre var der en irriterende lavfkrevens lyd fra en maskine som kunne høres hele natten.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hyggelig med kaldt.

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Gammelt men hyggelig hotell. Litt lytt og kaldt rom. Panelovnen viste 24 men det ble det aldri. Uansett, kort men hyggelig opphold.
4 out of 5
by Frode Sandvik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Karmøy

God service

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
Alltid like koselig å komme til dette hotellet!