Ratings based on 960 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Charming hotel close to beach, not too far from SF

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere, comfortable rooms, nice pool and jacuzzi area. Not too far from San Francisco.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to beaches, not too far from San Francisco (30 miles). Good dining options. Good beaches, not crowded.
Decided to stay here with the family for 3 nights instead of staying in overpriced and crowded San Francisco. So glad we chose to stay here. We had the benefit of relaxing at a nice property in a chill beach town. Didn't mind the 1.5 hour drive into San Francisco during morning traffic. We all enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. Good free breakfast. Ample parking. Frogs churping at night was soothing. Nothing bad to say about this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great hotel near beaches and town

Posted Apr 26, 2017
If staying in Half Moon Bay, this is a lovely hotel at a reasonable cost. We loved the back patio surrounded by vegetation as well as the pool area. Our room easily accommodated four and it was very quiet. The breakfast which is included was good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great view, nice staff, lacking extras

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Add air conditioning, microwave, better breakfast
A bit surprised there was no A/C and no microwave in a hotel in this area. Bath tub also wasn't super clean. However, i liked the location and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast also did not include many good items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The location is good & the price is pretty good.
Cons: Adding eggs to the breakfast menu would be nice. Towels at the pool would be cool. A list with the TV channels marked would be awesome!
Location: Multiple beach access points close by. The 2 we visited required a short hike to get to the beach & aren't handicapped accessible if that matters.
I stayed at the hotel with my family. We visited a couple of the beaches nearby. They are a short drive away. The room was clean & comfortable without many frills. There was a small back patio with 2 chairs & a view of the golf course. I didn't talk much to the staff, but they seemed fine to me. My daughters loved the fresh cookies & probably took more than their share. There is a heated swimming pool (a necessity since it is pretty cool there most of the time) & a nice sized hot tub. They have a work out room, which isn't much, but gets the job done. There is an outdoor fireplace that they will switch on if you ask. Don't expect to warm yourself by the fire though. It is more for looks than heat. It is nice though. They have tables & chairs near the swimming pool where you can eat if you would like. They serve a pretty mediocre breakfast with do your own waffles & oatmeal. It comes with the place though, so it is better than nothing. My only real complaint would be the towels. I said I would have 4 people in the room when I signed up & there were 2 towels. We went down to the pool 3 times & only once did they have any towels there. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linden, Belgium

conveniently located

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: location
Conveniently located between LA and San Francisco the Half Moon Bay Lodge is like a motel and offers sleeping accommodation nothing more nothing less. No restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Room filled with ants

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Nice location
Cons: No anots and friendlier staff
Location: Love dontwon HMB
We had a late check in In the morning the bathroom , the bed sheets and our clothes had ants crawling alloverthem. The front desk offered "maid service" I asked fo ranother room which we had to wait for Upon check out the fornt office staff was very rude
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice amenities. Right next to the golf course.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Very helpful staff with local maps, recommendations and help with directions to sites, beaches and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

charming place

Posted Apr 6, 2017
You get more for the price you pay, this is what I felt when stayed there. Love the location of bein on golf course. Many beautiful views from any side of the hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean with good quality towels and bed sheets. The pool area and garden next to it are cozy, beautiful and have a boutique like feel. We want to come back there one day.,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel in residential area

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Nice neighborhood. Convenient stay for getting to the SF airport early morning.
Cons: Sound proofing... We were on first floor so heard constant walking (for hours) in the room above us.
Location: Good restaurants, convenient drive to activity at Harbor.
Overall good experience, cordial staff, modern facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Close to town. Nice quiet setting.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
We enjoyed another nice stay. HMB Lodge is our first choice onot the coast. The rooms face the golf course and lagoon. The pool and jacuzzi are just right. And the staff was excellent when we reported a problem. They were fixing it before I left the lobby. Be sure to dine in town. Check out the new Dad's Luncheonette for a tasty casual lunch or supper. And go see a show at Coastal Repertory.