Ratings based on 1,033 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
We didn’t know that the pool was under renovation and closed, that wasn’t listed on Expedia. The first room we received, the bath wouldn’t stop up (for the kids to take a bath), so we had to change rooms. Great location, amazing little town, and cute hotel just wish we knew the pool want available.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Overpriced Hotel and Unpleasant Staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
First of all the staff weren’t welcoming to us at all, after getting off an 11 hour flight we would have appreciated at least a smile. We got into the room and the TV wasn’t working properly and the bathroom door wouldn’t shut. So their ‘solution’ was to hit the back of the tv and slam the door with force. Also when we arrived the pool was down for maintenance which we had no notification of prior to us arriving, and as this was a holiday for us this was an issue. We dealt with the room for 6 nights due to it being prime location to San Jose and attending a 49ers game. On the seventh day we said enough was enough when we found ants in the bed, bathroom and coffee/fridge area. Which we gave them the chance to sort out which their reply was ‘we know that there are ants’ and sent someone up with a spray which continued to spray 3 small spaces sparingly, one covering our personal belongings which we had to chuck away. So we were forced to find a new hotel last minute for our next 7 nights in the San Fransisco area. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone and will 100% not be returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Keith Wesselmann, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review from your recent stay. We take pride in providing the best possible service and comfort for our guests and we are always looking for ways to improve. We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. Sincerely, Keith Wesselmann General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two Night Stay

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, big car park, good size room, quiet.
Hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking. Check In was efficient and friendly – with freshly baked cookies on offer. Had a Twin Queen Bed Room on the ground floor with a view over the garden and houses opposite. Room was a good size with a small patio which caught the afternoon/evening sun, had plenty of space for luggage and had a double wardrobe. Bathroom was a bit tight but OK with an over bath shower, plenty of hot water and good flow. Bath robe, big bath towel, face cloth and hand towel each plus Bigelow toiletries. Room and bathroom were clean. Mattresses and pillows were too soft for me, but linens were comfortable. Room was quiet with minimal external noise from traffic etc. but could hear occupants walking and moving around in the room directly above. Room had a small sink outside the bathroom (handy), refrigerator (which we had to defrost) and tea/coffee making facilities. There was no air conditioning in the room, the thermostat being marked as heat only and the floor by one of the beds was warm, presumably from the underground pipes. Hence it was difficult to control the heat and the room may end up being quite hot in the summer. Wifi in room and throughout hotel had good strength. Breakfast was included in our rate which was continental and OK-ish, but the carpet and chairs in the breakfast room needed a good clean to get rid of the stains – although this was the end of season so maybe that is on the list. Would probably stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Pablo, California.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds.
Cons: Install air condition, i was sweating inside our room. Have to open the sliding door to let tge cool air in. Do not book here in the summer. No view.
Hotel sign not visible, breakfast room is crowded, there's ants in the room, no airconditioning, no microwave oven, no water in the pool, fireplace patio closed, slow ceiling fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely kept. Very friendly, helpful staff,

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Hotel has door to the outside, and it’s easy to hear passing foot traffic. My neighbors were in and our of their room quite a bit, people knocking on their door - so was a bit noisy. But it all settled into a quiet, comfortable evening. Staff are great - can’t do enough for you. Room was clean, comfortable and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
No problems at all. Room was as described, clean and requested amenities provided prior to check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Clean and quiet room, the staff was efficient and location is very nice. The Breakfast Buffet was good At $375/night I expected more but that is California.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

A convient hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Very convient
Cons: The hotel is a little tired and installing a safe in the room would be good. A little variety for breakfast would be good.
Location: It is perfect if you want to drive along the old A1 road and horse riding. Half Moon Bay is surrounded by many restaurants within 20 minutes drive.
We booked for 2 adults and 1 child and the hotel only prepared a room for 2 adults only. We had to ask for the spare bed which was delivered with a little delay. There are no safe deposit box in the room. The hotel looks a little tired but services the purpose. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was simple but was good. Location of the hotel was perfect if you wanted to drive along the old A1 road to catch the view of the coastline. Around Half Moon Bay, you are surrounded by many restaurants within 20 minutes drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane

It’s The Small Stuff

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Although we were only there one night, we couldn’t have been more satisfied. It was clear, from the smallest details, that this little gem is run with great care for the comfort of its guests. The staff was helpful and efficient, the facility, simple but well appointed and very clean, and the beds extremely fresh and comfortable. A comforting bedroom fireplace, and a tasty, serve yourself breakfast, topped off a lovely stay. Great golf virtually down the street. We will be back to stay longer next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Went for annual Pumpkin Fest (rather underwhelming unless your main interest is crafts booths) but had a great time overall. Half Moon Bay is lovely and Hotel staff was excellent!