Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Harbor View Inn

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Half Moon Bay, CA. Beautiful location. Not many things to do but that wasn't our purpose for being there anyway.
No air conditioning and the room was very hot. Lots of dust and cobwebs. Great view of the ocean. Towels were gross and actually dirty. Had to ask for washcloth. Be very very sure of your length of stay. It was almost impossible to change. Very weird experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Mateo

Don't let pictures mislead you!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything! Everything was dirty, VERY old, and dilapidated. Toilet did not work properly...too much to say, not enough room to do so.
Location: Location is good. Close to the harbor. Many great restaurants nearby, beaches, whale watching, etc.
Definitely not worth the price I paid. Pictures online are not even close to what our room looked like! Furniture was pathetic. All scratched up and some broken drawers. I had to fix toilet...twice! Table in room was absolutely filthy! It does say it is AAA approved...maybe they should go back out? But I must say...the young woman that helped me was very pleasant and cordial. I absolutely hate giving negative reviews, and am pretty easy to please. But I don't like paying for a service that is misrepresented.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ct

Adequate for a Roadside Inn

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the shower had a great spray.
Cons: No AC, no screens in windows. The fog horn in the bay blows every 10 seconds, 24/7. It can be annoying.
Location: The location was good as it is close to Mavericks surf area (about a 5 minute drive) Close to restaurants and fuel.
I defaulted to the Harbor View Inn due to all of the higher rated hotels in the area being booked. We chose the area due to its close proximity to Mavericks.The front desk receptionist was pleasant and friendly. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the bathroom was updated. No AC and the Windows had no screens. One other minor issue was with my wife who kept tripping the breaker in the bathroom receptacle while trying to dry her hair. Overall it was pretty decent for that type of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by harborviewinn@yahoo.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with a terrific view

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Absolutely the best hotel we stayed in on our Highway1 California trip. Great ocean view! The most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in. Lov d the hot tub. Bathroom was gorgeous with the marble and a fireplace. Loved the local beautiful pictures on the walls. The restsurant and Ramon were superb. Great guacamole appetizer and scallop appetizer. The meals were delicious. I did not want to leave!! Janes at the front deskwS very helpful. Loved it! Thank you!! I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by harborviewinn@yahoo.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate that you stayed with us, and we look forward to being of service to you on future stays in Harbor View Inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach and pier. Very clean.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Wonderful staff, very helpful. Hotel close enough to walk to the pier. Older building but everything inside is new.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Alona, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Harbor View Inn.We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests. Hope to see you again. All the best
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Don't book it

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Mold in showers, dirty carpets. The smell around the hotel was awful. Come on Harbor View put some money back into this facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by kunihiko from 日本

ホテルの名前程良くない

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
受付の女性は感じが比較的良かった。
4 out of 5
by Kieu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Navery from San Bruno

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Room reeked of harsh chemicals and music blasted from another room which did not stop despite complaints. We had to leave in the middle of the night. The girl at the front barely apologized and did not offer a refund or even compensation