Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Close to the beach and highway.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Access to the bay.
Cons: Add air-conditioning.
Location: Long walks on the beach.
Overall nice hotel. However, it is on Highway 1 and since there is not air conditioning, you will likely sleep with the patio door at least partly open so you can enjoy the sounds of zooming cars & trucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome place!

Posted May 31, 2017
We loved the place. We would love to come back and stay longer maybe a week. The staff was very nice and the room was spotless. Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints at all! Perfect!

Posted May 28, 2017
Great room. Very clean. No complaints at all. Comfortable. Would definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Nice location that is right on the edge of the harbor and close to several restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel overlooking the ocean

Posted May 17, 2017
Very nice hotel, overlooking the ocean. Your view is of an enclosed harbor and jetty, with the wild open ocean slightly to the left of the hotel. There's a walking/running pathway between most hotel rooms and the beach, but it's way below your room so you don't have people waking right in front of you. The front entrance of the hotel sits right on highway 1, so you may want to double check if your room is situated on the highway 1 side of either end of the hotel because I believe those rooms are noisy. But again, many more of their rooms face the ocean. On the left side of the hotel is a pool and jacuzzi area which is very nice, along with outdoor seating. The side fence beyond the pool does look out on a trailer park, but it's the kind where very large high end mobile vehicles hook up. It's small and we've only seen very nice older people living there. It seems to be a relaxed community and you'll only see those vehicles in the parking lot at the end of the pool, and from several rooms that look over those vehicles. But the expansive ocean is the overall view you'll enjoy. But because of this, we tend to want rooms that only face the ocean harbor for less noise and peace. The rooms are well appointed, most with fireplaces, views, separated bath and shower, 2 bathroom sinks, fridge, microwave and kitchen plates and utensils. There's a few resteraunts within walking distance with views so it's very convenient. We love this Halfmoon Bay hotel we think it's the best in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the heated pool! And the breakfast!

Posted May 15, 2017
Thank you again! We look forward to coming back again nect year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, clean fresh and great staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness. The room was spacious and had great view of the water
drove up the coast from Monterey and had a great day. This is a great spot to stop and spend the night. Would stay here again anytime
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Carlos, CA

Loved our one night stay!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Loved it, beautiful room with an ocean view.
Cons: I strongly suggest that the hotel provide coffee mugs instead of cups and two cups of coffee per guest, instead of one.
Location: Best location ever for taking long walks at the Beach and dining at Sam's next door.
We drive by this hotel every weekend and always wanted to stay, however, we thought for sure that there would be a two-night stay requirement, especially a weekend. That turned out to be a misconception! We were thrilled to be able to book a room for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truckee, Ca

Beautiful suite overlooking g the ocean

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Comfortable room, quaint little town of Half Moon Bay close by. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid choice

Posted Apr 13, 2017
It was a lovely room overlooking the ocean with nice amenities