Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Nice location that is right on the edge of the harbor and close to several restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel overlooking the ocean

Posted May 17, 2017
Very nice hotel, overlooking the ocean. Your view is of an enclosed harbor and jetty, with the wild open ocean slightly to the left of the hotel. There's a walking/running pathway between most hotel rooms and the beach, but it's way below your room so you don't have people waking right in front of you. The front entrance of the hotel sits right on highway 1, so you may want to double check if your room is situated on the highway 1 side of either end of the hotel because I believe those rooms are noisy. But again, many more of their rooms face the ocean. On the left side of the hotel is a pool and jacuzzi area which is very nice, along with outdoor seating. The side fence beyond the pool does look out on a trailer park, but it's the kind where very large high end mobile vehicles hook up. It's small and we've only seen very nice older people living there. It seems to be a relaxed community and you'll only see those vehicles in the parking lot at the end of the pool, and from several rooms that look over those vehicles. But the expansive ocean is the overall view you'll enjoy. But because of this, we tend to want rooms that only face the ocean harbor for less noise and peace. The rooms are well appointed, most with fireplaces, views, separated bath and shower, 2 bathroom sinks, fridge, microwave and kitchen plates and utensils. There's a few resteraunts within walking distance with views so it's very convenient. We love this Halfmoon Bay hotel we think it's the best in the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the heated pool! And the breakfast!

Posted May 15, 2017
Thank you again! We look forward to coming back again nect year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, clean fresh and great staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness. The room was spacious and had great view of the water
drove up the coast from Monterey and had a great day. This is a great spot to stop and spend the night. Would stay here again anytime
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Carlos, CA

Loved our one night stay!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Loved it, beautiful room with an ocean view.
Cons: I strongly suggest that the hotel provide coffee mugs instead of cups and two cups of coffee per guest, instead of one.
Location: Best location ever for taking long walks at the Beach and dining at Sam's next door.
We drive by this hotel every weekend and always wanted to stay, however, we thought for sure that there would be a two-night stay requirement, especially a weekend. That turned out to be a misconception! We were thrilled to be able to book a room for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truckee, Ca

Beautiful suite overlooking g the ocean

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Comfortable room, quaint little town of Half Moon Bay close by. Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid choice

Posted Apr 13, 2017
It was a lovely room overlooking the ocean with nice amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, CA

Peaceful, Beautiful, and Uplifting

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: I really did enjoy everything! Thank you!!!
Cons: Maybe add one protein to the a.m. such as boiled eggs; but not necessary.
Location: Twice as nice shops; downtown, and the harbor are nice sights to see.
I had never stayed here but wanted to as it is right on the coast and the place seemed very nicely put together. I am very impressed by everything, the service, the staff, the breakfast pastry and scone variety, etc. I may suggest boiled eggs for a protein to add to the a.m. selection, but thats just me. The pool is like bath water and the hot tub exceptional. It is nice to sit and relax; swimming or hot tubing while watching the waves and listening to them as the birds sing. Very cool! In all reality; I will get a ocean view room next time as that is probably the only thing I should of done in the first place. But all and all I am happy with the appeal of this place, from fish in the fountain, to beautiful foliage surrounding the premises, to the upkeep and staff. It is a delightful place and I can't wait to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Patricia Wilson - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Christy, Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so happy you had an enjoyable getaway and were able to relax and take advantage of the amenities in your guest room and throughout the property! Thank you also for your suggestion to add eggs for breakfast. I have passed that along to our General Manager. We look forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Great location and view. Loved the sound of the foghorn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Patricia Wilson - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with path to beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Location by the beach
Cons: Wish there were rooms with 2 beds.
Enjoyed relaxing stay. Room clean and bed comfortable. Very nice beach and walkway to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Patricia Wilson - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to welcome you back soon!