Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Zurich, Illinois

5 STARS

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Wife and I had a great experience. The staff was the best we have ever seen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful hotel in beautiful ocean setting

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location, privacy, walking path on ocean that goes for miles
Cons: Nothing
We stayed in a wonderful one bedroom suite in the guest house with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The ground floor suite also has both gas fireplace and a private outdoor gas firepit on the patio overlooking the ocean. The beds were firm but soft and all the furniture and fixtures were lovely. There is a walking path along the ocean that goes for miles and the sunsets are outstanding. This is the nicest place we have ever stayed in that is on the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Bay, CA

Terrific Get A Way

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Like the saltwater pool and the beach trails
Went there for a midweek two day stay to focus on work planning. Excellent in all respects
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great time & Wonderful Service

Posted Jan 17, 2016
We loved everything - the view, the staff, the spa, and the dining. Luis at the bar - Conservatory Café - was great. Mara was such a pleasure at breakfast & we took her advice on some great restaurants in Napa. She was correct. We would highly recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Jolla, CA

Disappointed

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: The views from the main building restaurants. Serene setting. Golf course.
Cons: Did not charge our car when they said they would causing us big problems the next day.
Location: While the location is beautiful there's not much at all to do nearby so if you don't play golf you better grab your car keys and start driving.
We decided to drive our new Tesla up the coast of California and experience the great resorts of California along the way. This was one of our stops. Despite the breathtaking location of this hotel, we ended up feeling like we were staying in a pre-fab townhouse in Northern Virginia with a view of a swamp. We stayed in what they call "the cottages." If you go to this hotel, I would STRONGLY not recommend the cottages. All the action, the views and the ambiance is in the main building. At the cottages, you have to call for the house car to come and get you to take advantage of almost any amenity. The feel of the hotel is pure nouveau riche. The main building looks like a cardboard cutout (clad with clapboard siding, no less) of a Scottish golf clubhouse stripped of any character at all. Hideous. The views are breathtaking when you can get 'em but this hotel really feels like the developer spent all the money on the land and golf course and had little money left for the buildings - I mean EVERYTHING is covered with clapboard siding!. I would say that the way to get the most out of your stay here is if you are a golfer. It really felt like a golf resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Everything about this hotel is first class. The staff, facilities, view, etc. is second to none. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Larry from Chicago

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was amazing. Our baby girl had a allergic reaction to some food and they immediately made an appointment for us with a local doctor and she is fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Brittany Watts, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear your daughter is doing well. Thank you for staying with us here at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff was rude - repeatedly made mistakes on our bill. One of the worst experiences in a while. Everything from hotel rate to restaurant is overpriced without match in quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with gorgeous views.

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Hotel is beautiful & fits perfectly in its surroundings which are also beautiful.Rooms are top class.The staff were all very professional & friendly.
Cons: Our room next to the public washroom was noisy.
Location: Golf,swim,walk along the cliff over the ocean.Climb down to the beach.Ride free bikes into Town or along the cliff.
We received an upgrade to the main hotel with an ocean view.{great}.Public washroom next to our room with noisy door.Also cleaning crew came in at 4am and were very noisy.{not so great].We complained and the next nt. the cleaning crew was much quieter.Great golf courses,ocean course had fantastic views.Free bikes with paved trails.Food very good but a little expensive.Nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Bay area

Nice 5 stars hotel for getaway

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
OMG is the word that I try to say. Lovely hotel with lovely view, wonderful, No words can describable, will comes back to play golf and stay.