Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Total frustration!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Celebrating our Wedding Anniversary with frustration! We didn't know that there is no air conditioner in all rooms (as it was not stated during my reservation). We only have a fan that can't help during our stay. The front desk told us to just open the window coz its cooler outside. The windows don't have screen and it's as big as a door that anybody can just climb without using any force. The carpet is so dirty with all the stains all over. TV is historic. The desk chair is so dirty. The only updated is the bathroom. We have room#20. Tina the help for our breakfast is friendly and accommodating. But we are not coming back and will not recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, a bit run down, clean.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: good continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese. LOCATION!
Cons: They really need to invest in fixing up the exterior of some of the buildings. Better bed and fix the A/C in room 25.
Location: Great location, restaurants, shopping, bar, beach all easy walking distance.
OK, the place is a bit run down, especially on the outside. The rooms are minimal but clean. The location is great and the price is right. Don't expect five star accommodations at two star prices and you'll be happy at the Zaballa House. The place is at the North end of Main street so all of the shops and restaurants are right outside the facility. One of the nicer restaurants is right across the street. There is a bar a few doors down with occasional live music and a small courtyard with a gas fire pit.15 minute walk to the beach. Sometimes it's location... location... Location! and Zaballah House has that for sure!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

B & B close to the action

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Put in a phone to front desk. Include some info in room about heating/cooling systems and where and when breakfast occurs.
Location: Right on Main Street, near lots of little shops and restaurants.
I have always wanted to stay at Zaballa Hose on Main Street in HMB. I was going to be late to check in so I stopped by earlier in the day to find out the procedure since B & B's often lock their doors at night. When I returned later, someone was still on the desk and checked me in. I had to go back to get better directions to my "suite" as it was not in the main house but above an arcade next door. I was given no information about breakfast or how to operate the fan or fireplace. In fact, their was no phone in the room if I needed something. Pros: very spacious room with kitchenette and balcony very large jetted tub lots of fresh fruit at breakfast Cons: lack of information about how anything worked I had to make a long distance call to find out about breakfast not much more than fresh fruit at breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be an Awesome Zaballa House

Posted May 27, 2017
This place needs some serious TLC! Maria in the office was very accommodating. BUT... Our room was far from the deluxe room I had requested. The carpets were dirty, the room, although large, was very spartan and the TV kept cutting out! Since we always look for the silver lining, the bed was comfortable, the shower was fine and the breakfast fine! If the owners were to invest some $$, this could be a stellar place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Charming, convenient location. Near food & shops

Posted May 23, 2017
Staff was friendly & room was roomy & much nicer than expected!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno

Not worth the gas or time to drive to!

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Zip!
Cons: Where to start! New management, clean up the rooms, make them safe to get in and out of the shower, go to the Dollar Store and buy matching hangers.
Location: The location is the only redeeming part to this place. The beach and the town of Half Moon Bay could stand by themselves without the Zaballa House.
Believe me when I write that this is the absolute most horrific "Bed & Breakfast" I've ever stayed at--departed a day early. The first room I rejected had an inoperable fireplace, the bath faucets dripped and there was only a tub--no shower. The other room had an electrical cord draped OVER the plumbing pipes, the pedestal sink was not secure, one of the faucets was not connected to the sink and if you like amenities--don't plan on them here: shelves, shampoo, a place to hang your clothes in the bathroom--forget it! But you do have four different kinds of hanger to use on the wall in the bedroom! And did I mention "breakfast"?--visualize weak continental with a glob of aged fruit. And most unimpressive was the "manager" who dragged his feet to resolve the issue (refund). He was never at the site, never returned calls to Expedia and after two weeks of his shuck & jive, Expedia (Kudos!), stepped up to the plate, refunded me the amount due and I'm a happy camper. So bypass this place in any fashion you can--sleep in the car, a bar or in the park if necessary! That said, there are other accommodations in Half Mood Bay that you can find where the staff is friendly, the food abundant and the place doesn't resemble a Third World hotel. Oh, and the photo they have posted is bogus. That large building to the left of their site on the right is actually a collection of gift stores and is not affiliated in any fashion with rooms. Bottom line: AVOID THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

1.5 miles walking distance

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Special attention night/morning staff. You could tell it's family-run since 1926. Breakfast buffet/great. Evening time, close to bar. 1.5 mi to beach
Location: Its on Main Street, specialty shops, restaurants, bar.
We had no complaints, the staff, location & atmosphere was at a 10! We did not know that there was a historical room in the lobby area, but once we found it, we were blown away. There were handwritten documents in cases that proved the discovery first of all of Half Moon Bay, then the title paper work, then the engineering of the entire town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienent to town

Posted May 9, 2017
Older hotel but very convienent to town. Needs some upgrades but fine if location is your priority. Staff is very friendly and the morning fruit and homemade breads are yummy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place with friendly services.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Room with high ceiling, large window, big 2nd floor patio. I will replace the old, scrached furniture and the old toilet cover sit to make this place more comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

An unpretentious surprise

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Loved the breakfast and bed and breakfast feel of the experience.
Cons: My wifi was not very good in the area of our room. It would be beneficial to have that upgraded.
Location: Lots of little shops to visit and great restaurants. 30 minute commute to SanFransisco.
Very large cozy room overlooking street filled with shops and boutiques. A very easy commute to visit the sights in San Fransisco. Helpful, friendly staff provided info on local restaurants, shops etc. Beautiful breakfast in the main dining room, which included fresh fruits and berries and homemade quiche and sweet breads. Excellent value for the money and for the San Fransisco area.