Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Beautiful location on the water

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location (for the view), not far from Sechelt.
Cons: The bright white fluorescent bulbs used in the rooms and lobby were a bit odd. We would have preferred a more traditional, warmer colour.
Location: Plenty of things to see in Sechelt and Madeira Park nearby. Hiking, beach-combing, kayaking, food-tasting, mountain biking, are just a sample.
Loved the stay here. Situated above the water by a quiet and partially hidden cove, it offers a variety of room types from traditional hotel rooms, small wood cabins and dramatic, tent-style cabins with large windows, decks and soaker tubs perched high on the rock overlooking the water. I doubt that any room wouldn't have a good view, as all face the water. The traditional cabins and main lodge is a bit older, but well maintained. It was evident that the facility has undergone a bit of an evolution through the years. We stayed in the more affordable hotel room, and though it was a bit older (as was evident by the 'patina' of use of the furniture), everything was very clean. Someone had obviously paid attention to the beds as they were very comfortable. Staff was genuine and down-to-earth, friendly and very helpful. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant but breakfast was reasonably priced and excellent! We had walked an extensive wooden trestle and boardwalk and saw a few of the 'tents' from the outside - the environment is amazing and the boardwalk is an experience in itself - and were already planning our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3 star at very most, not 4

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Nice provincial parks nearby.
The rating perhaps stems as a result of their marketing and my expectation before arriving. They market and charge it out as a luxurious stay in a 4 star with photos online looking alot better than in person. If they just said you were staying in a quaint little rustic cabin by the ocean that would be fine and much more accurate. The regular cabin was very basic with very basic and dated interior and definitely not a 4 star condition and barely 3, it resembled more what you'd see in a 2 star regular hotel or Motel room. Lots of random bugs get in the room which is understandable as you're in the rain forest. The location of the cabin was amazing, could see the ocean and and was very memorable. WiFi signal was great. The price and expectation Vs condition is the only reason I'm not rating it higher since you don't get what you pay for or expect. If it was more reasonable and advertised properly I would have not gone here for the particular occasion I did..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

getting in touch with nature

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: more secluded the walkway were so nice&romantic loved the tub & all the extra features the night staff were AWESOME
Cons: maybe an extra staff for the day shifts - front desk answer the phones, take reservations and check in guest. so it might be a bit overwhelmed
Location: Smugglers Cove Marine Park
it was a really nice stay in the tenthouse suite. (#53) view was really nice (keep in mind that there are trees so its not a complete open view) the fireplace really kept the room warm. bathtub was awesome, it changes colors and has jet options - fits two people comfortably (we're more on the petite side) mini fridge was a decent size to store little snacks. bed was a bit soft for my liking but that's based on personal preference patio furnish just to hanging out on the patio i had no issues with wifi - it was stable throughout my entire stay *i would note that the sound travels really well here... the tent are in close proximity - was quite a bit of couples there ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rockwater rocks :)

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Walks, trails, beautiful scenery ...
Everything was beautiful except the room is in need of upgrade --tv super small, no artwork , old carpet and furniture...beds were nice though! And the bathroom pretty old looking , tiny tub...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Back for a 3rd time

Posted Oct 6, 2016
This was our third trip to rockwater. We stayed in the tenthouse suites and, as with each time, found them to be perfect. Relaxing and comfortable with an amazing view, the trip was exactly what we wanted for our anniversary. The off season prices are more than reasonable for what you get. This room is worth easily the off season rate, however, I can see not wanting to pay the summer rates. The tents are the perfect amount of cozy for a rainy fall night with the comfy beds, heated floors and fireplace. The view can't be beat and if you are looking for romance and relaxation - you will find it here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Never back again! Doesn't worth $200ish per night! Food wasn't bad!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Tenthouse suite

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Tenthouse suite was a unique experience but I wouldn't recommend it for the following reasons: 1. Service was not as expected for the price point. 2. It's not as private as they make it out to be. The tents are in close proximity to each other. You can hear everything. EVERYTHING. 3. Over priced considering the lack of amenities and inclusions plus the poor service. There are way better places to stay on the Sunshine Coast (Painted Boat) or anywhere else in BC (Sparkling Hills is amazing at half the price). Having said that, the tents itself were pretty cool and it was a unique one time experience but wouldn't recommend or go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy room.

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Privacy and location.
Cons: Room cleanliness.
Room was not up to usual cleanliness. Hairs everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jun 3, 2016
I had a wonderful night at this hotal. I will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from FraserValley

Beautiful Location for a beautiful vacation

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: View, Food, Staff, Hospitality, Cleanliness.
Cons: A hot tub/pool would be a nice addition. A bigger tv in rooms, only since it rained two of our days there so we spent a fair bit of time in our room:P
Location: There is plenty of beautiful beaches, trails/hikes, local shops and restaurants to visit.
My boyfriend and I were wanting to get away for a nice relaxing weekend for our first vacation in six years without our daughter, after spending around a week looking at different resorts/hot springs/etc we came across Rockwater and fell inlove with the beautiful views of the ocean, the feel of the resort and the surrounding areas. While we couldn't afford to stay in one of the tent rooms this time, staying in the lodge was perfect for us. We arrived an hour earlier then check in and they allowed us to go right up to our room. The room was spotless and very clean, the view from the deck was perfect and we relaxed. We ended up going to a local pub for dinner, which was also very good. On our second day we ordered room service for breakfast which was so good!!! Over our weekend away we also visited a few of the local beaches, did a couple of the hikes in the area, and went to some of the local restaurants. All in all it was a perfect weekend away for me and my boyfriend. We were very happy with every aspect of our trip and we defiantly plan on returning to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort :)