Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire, England

Lovely setting right on the lake

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Liked the old world charm of the main building. Liked the fact that it was quiet and no children.
Cons: Room starting to look a little tired. Could do with new floor coverings. Evening meal a little pricy although quality in excess of the norm.
Location: Loved the location even though Haliburton nearest town is 15km away. Scenery all around is stunning.
Excellent relaxing visit. Staff and overall experience very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My top 5 reasons for RETURNING to Sam's Inn!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: It was quaint, well maintained, clean and the location on the lake was beautiful and serene. I loved that you had WI-FI from any place on the property
Cons: I would update the carpets in the room and add a microwave.
Location: You can go to downtown Haliburton. There is a great ice cream parlor on Highland street trip. For a very good burger try McKeck's!
One of the best experiences I have had in an Ontario resort, here are my top 5 reasons why same is now added to my favorite places to stay: 1. The service from Front Desk welcome to asking for directions to local store - outstanding! 2. The food is delicious and culinary experience. Again their great service shone when the staff accommodated my dietary restrictions. 3. The facilities - I felt many times like Sir Sam's was my home! Ryan the Inn Keeper has made this place your home away from home. 4. The fact that this was adult only, tranquil, clean and quiet! 5. Rene - our server. She was a highlight. Thank you for going above and beyond in every instance. #youknowwhatyoudid!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Perfect getaway for a couple

Posted Aug 11, 2016
This was the perfect getaway; outstanding meals, luxurious water spa, fun water front activities, outdoor pool, etc..
5 out of 5
by Christine from Welland, Ontario

Would highly recommend, if you're looking for rela

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Could not have asked for more, my husband & I felt totally relaxed (well deserved I must say) the Chef absolutely out did himself (we dined in 6 out of 7 nights...) Our "couples" massage was awesome.
5 out of 5
by Debra from Roslin Ontario

ANNIVERSARY GETAWAY

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Anniversary Getaway. Wonderful adult location, warm, friendly staff, exceptional meals. Amazing water spa.
5 out of 5
by MsSara from Toronto

Weekend at Sir Sam's

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels
This was the perfect winter weekend getaway. There was great cross country skiing just a 10 minute drive away and what a way to unwind after with the water spa. The food was outstanding. Perfect package.
5 out of 5
by Heather & Joe

Exceeded expectations.

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Haliburton is not far away and any drive in the area is spectacular with the small lakes and wildlife. A photographers dream. See the Wolf Centre.
This Inn provides the perfect couples getaway. Not only is the spa a relaxing experience but the beautiful lake views and sounds are a feast for the soul. Whether you like mingling with the other guests by an evening fire or being alone Sir Sam's has it all. The staff make you feels so welcome and at home. Overall an eligant piece of paradise in the Haliburton Highlands.
4 out of 5
by bryan from alabama

beautiful summer venue ... no air conditioning...

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: great staff... beautiful views and food
Cons: need air conditioning for comfort... could barely sleep... décor is old but adequately maintained... food and drink higher than Toronto central prices
Location: I was there to see family nearby... waterskiing and beach facilities very good
room adequate.. not air conditioned... small fan... had to bail out to a distant hotel for comfort... staff excellent... prices all high end.... would recommend only to those who have excess cash....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend rest

Posted Jul 8, 2013
We had a lovely stay at Sir Sam's. The new owners go out of their way to make you happy. The spa area and pool are very relaxing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels