Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hosts

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Unique old mansion with connections to local history
Location: Downtown Halifax just a short drive away.
Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.arrived as strangers, left as friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cathie and Danny are the best hosts ever

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous XIX century home. Great breakfast with great diversity of other guests making for pleasant conversations.
My wife and I spent 5 nights in the Auditor's room with our 17-month daughter. Cathy went above and beyond to look after the young one and was always ready to help with anything we needed. We definitely recommend their home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A bit disappoiting but breakfast was good

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: So so!
Cons: Rooms could be renovated especially carpet be changed to tiles and amenities be improved .
Upon arrival we were received by the hostess who seemed too hospitable and promotional to her property. But the fact was that the house is old but not well maintained, and our room (The Merchant's Room at the back corner on the second floor) is very small with 2 small double beds and a few very simple furniture. The small window which could not be well closed with a plastic ventilation fan stucked in blowing humid air into the room. The carpet seems not clean enough. The bathroom is OK, but without a hair dryer (She promised to bring one but forgot to), and a little bit smell. The staircase is very narrow and steep which is not good for elders especially when carrying luggeges. If the hostess had not promoted too much it would be better to our feelings. Howbever, the warm English style breakfast was good. We could see that the hosts (no staff) were working hard catering 10 guests the whole morning with a few-month old baby around. On the whole, we understood the hosts but we were disappointed at staying here after a long driving on our last day of our trip to Halifax and Nova Scotia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shawinigan

Accueillant.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Déjeuner excellent
Location: Très près du vieux Halifax. Facile de s'y rendre.
Les jeunes propriétaires sont une source d'information sans fond sur l'histoire de la maison, les choses à visiter, les coûts du traversier, etc. La carte de la ville fournie a été très utile. Nous avons bien apprécié leur hospitalité.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shawinigan

Agréable

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Propriétaires accueillants. Excellent déjeuner. On nous transmet beaucoup d'informations sur les sites à visiter. Emplacement un peu difficile à trouver.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value/great nights sleep/and so close in city

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly outgoing hosts. Very informative and knowledgeable about local places and history.The property has quite a history ,as does the area. Good breakfast. TV did not work,cable problems.Parking is an issue ,but the hosts try so hard to look after every guest. I feel that their home would command much higher rates in Halifax if the parking was better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Halifax weekend stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly hosts, anxious to please, tasty breakfasts attractively presented. Sloping driveway, space a challenge for larger vehicles.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Great Hostess

Posted May 21, 2016
The Hostess at this B&B is awesome! She's full of wonderful, energetic conversation. Her home felt like my home
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Historic building overlooking the Bedford Basin.

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: The breakfasts, beds, friendliness of the owners. While we were there, it was very quiet, despite being located near the Bedford Highway and railway.
Cons: Parking and access presents a challenge for larger vehicles. There may be parking for 3 vehicles but turning around requires a lot of back and forth.
Location: We had trouble finding Northumberland Drive on our first attempt. Driving from Halifax on the Bedford Highway, take the next left after Melody Drive.
We enjoyed our breakfasts, which were artistically presented, and the owners were very friendly. The building is over 100 years old and overlooks the Bedford Basin. Its plumbing and wiring have been retrofitted. The ceilings are high and the building contains an art gallery. Our room was very clean and comfortable and other rooms we saw were well appointed. The staircase to the second floor where bedrooms are located could present a challenge to a customer with mobility issues. We had trouble finding Northumberland Drive on our Halifax city map; it is the second left turn off the Bedford Highway after you pass Mount Saint Vincent University heading toward Bedford. There is a very sharp turn into Harbourside Mansion off Northumberland Drive which large cars may have difficulty negotiating, both when entering and leaving. However the location is very good for getting to downtown Halifax, central Halifax and Clayton Park. We would recommend this B&B, subject to the qualifications noted.