Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Very old fashioned setting, great for the history buff.
Location: Except for the condos blocking the view, nice location off Bedford highway.
The hosts were excellent, food was good, nice presentation. Quiet location close to bus stops and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sxm-chicago-halifax

Had a great stay!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
There are two things we like about our stay here: The owner who is very amicable and delish breakfast served each morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, Ontario

Quirky and fun

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Steep driveway up a tight curve. 10 minute drive to main sites of Halifax
A little out of the way but an easy drive to main sites. Tight parking. Lovely old house with some quality refurbishing of comfortable suites. Host is young and engagingly eccentric and a bit hyper but eager to make guests happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Victorian Home on Bay

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Lovely updated old Victorian home. Our room was clean and quiet. Our hosts, Daniel and Katherine were gracious and helpful.
Cons: Parking next to the home was difficult.
Location: On Halifax's outskirts, Ascendence is a fairly close and uncomplicated drive to the Maritime Museum and Fairview Cemeteries.
We stayed one night. Daniel toted luggage for us. The home, built in 1891 is on a very steep hill and parking is tricky. From our Auditors room we had a limited bay view obscured by the large hotel/apt building that had been built between Ascendence and the bay. Daniel brought tea to our room and made restaurant suggestions which we used and had a delightful meal at Jim's Family Restaurant a short walk from our room. The custard pies are homemade there and delicious.Be sure to sit in the rear dining room that has the bay view. He also gave directions that we used to the Maritime Museum and Fairview Cemetery. Katherine and he prepared and served a good breakfast that included yogurt topped with fruit first course followed by eggs, bacon and toast along with tea/coffee.The room had its own bathroom, was clean and quiet but lacked an easy chair. It did have a roll out sofa. The stairs to our second floor room were winding and steep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hosts

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Unique old mansion with connections to local history
Location: Downtown Halifax just a short drive away.
Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.arrived as strangers, left as friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cathie and Danny are the best hosts ever

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous XIX century home. Great breakfast with great diversity of other guests making for pleasant conversations.
My wife and I spent 5 nights in the Auditor's room with our 17-month daughter. Cathy went above and beyond to look after the young one and was always ready to help with anything we needed. We definitely recommend their home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A bit disappoiting but breakfast was good

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: So so!
Cons: Rooms could be renovated especially carpet be changed to tiles and amenities be improved .
Upon arrival we were received by the hostess who seemed too hospitable and promotional to her property. But the fact was that the house is old but not well maintained, and our room (The Merchant's Room at the back corner on the second floor) is very small with 2 small double beds and a few very simple furniture. The small window which could not be well closed with a plastic ventilation fan stucked in blowing humid air into the room. The carpet seems not clean enough. The bathroom is OK, but without a hair dryer (She promised to bring one but forgot to), and a little bit smell. The staircase is very narrow and steep which is not good for elders especially when carrying luggeges. If the hostess had not promoted too much it would be better to our feelings. Howbever, the warm English style breakfast was good. We could see that the hosts (no staff) were working hard catering 10 guests the whole morning with a few-month old baby around. On the whole, we understood the hosts but we were disappointed at staying here after a long driving on our last day of our trip to Halifax and Nova Scotia.
3 out of 5
by Dianne from Alberta

Not recommended for airport overnight

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Although cozy, not recommended for overnight stay from airport. The listing suggests airport shuttle service, but it is really just taxi arrangement for $62 each way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value/great nights sleep/and so close in city

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly outgoing hosts. Very informative and knowledgeable about local places and history.The property has quite a history ,as does the area. Good breakfast. TV did not work,cable problems.Parking is an issue ,but the hosts try so hard to look after every guest. I feel that their home would command much higher rates in Halifax if the parking was better.