Ratings based on 1,821 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock

A Pleasing place

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Yes, better cleaning service to the rooms
Location: Freeman's restaurant. Great pizza and super friendly staff. There is also right by there a cute coffee shop-Dilly Daly coffee shop that is pretty good
Great location and overall not a bad stay. The location is a bit far if you want to go to the Harbour front but close to the bridge to go to Dartmouth and super close to the hospital. However if you either taxi or rented a car it is only an 8 minute drive to the Harbour front and that is something I would do as there is so much to see there. Lots of shopping an excellent restaurants. You can rent bikes or segways which is nice as well or take in the ferry. If you want to cross the bridge you are only a 5 minute drive away. The best pizza place we found was around the corner called Freeman's. It was definitely like New York pizza and the staff very friendly there and reasonably priced. The hotel itself I would say average. It is clean however we found that we stayed for 4 days and we only put on the first day not to have service to clean as we got in late the evening before and the rest of the time we were there we had to clean our room and it never was cleaned. So I had to call for towels and some toilet paper which I think at some point in our stay that we would have had one day where it would have been serviced. We ate one night in the hotel later on and we had a super nice gentleman that was very attentive and quite helpful with our drink and food selections. However he is the only one that we had any interaction with so I gave the Hotel Staff a 4. All in all it was a good stay and the location you can't beat. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new Brunswick

Great for families

Posted May 24, 2017
Close to the park, the pool was great and downtown was no troubke to walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice central location

Posted May 23, 2017
the staff especially at the front desk were very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton, NB

Nice hotel within walking distance to downtown.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: view, bed
Cons: everthing was clean and comfortable
Location: commons park nearby easy walk to our son's place
The room was clean and comfortable. Close to downtown restaurants and right across the street from the beautiful commons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Spacious
Location: Perfect location
Hotel location was suitable for my occasion. Spacious and clean. Only had breakfast on some days as the menu was limited same thing each day. The rooms are not properly cleaned. I could see through the bedspread in some areas and it made the bed uneven.it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amenities within walking distance

Posted May 20, 2017
Cons: Better free wifi
Nice staff, clean rooms. Wifi is not reliable. Staff seem to work hard at maintaining it, but it shows it's age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most comfortable bed ever!

Posted May 20, 2017
Check in was lousy complete with request for I'd...I've never had to do that in a hotel, also needed to out a deposit in room even though it was already paid for by credit card...I blame Expedia...if they don't put the hold on your card that can be a surprise. Check out was worse when they had to check my room for damage before giving me my hundred bucks back...the woman on the desk was rudeand dismissive and made me feel like crap
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Pillows. Better lighting in bathroom
Location: Halifax Common (large park) across the street, museum a short walk away, multi national restaurants and shopping close by, easy access to waterfront
Helpful staff, good hotel restaurant with great views over the Commons. Parking on site. Globe and Mail (newspaper) provided. Easy to get to nearby shopping, restaurants, parks and attractions. Comfortable room, bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

A seriously tired hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and accommodating.
Cons: The rooms are in need of a major upgrade.
Location: The location is good, an easy walk to much of the downtown if the weather is good. The Quinpool Road neighbourhood is fun to explore as well.
While it was the least expensive option for my visit to Halifax, I was expecting the hotel to be in better condition based on the Expedia reviews. The hotel apparently used to be a Holiday Inn but it seems clear to me that no major investments have been made the guest rooms in over a decade or more. The bed in my room was decidedly concave and springy, there are insufficient electrical outlets in the room and the bathroom's fixtures are just old. In short, the hotel feels like it hasn't been renovated for over a decade and is showing its age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Nearly did not make it because Air Canada over sold their flights.