Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

A great choice in the heart of downtown Halifax

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: the location isn't bad for work if you're driving or taking cabs, and you could easily walk, I imagine, around the Citadel during the day downtown
Cons: My picture window didn't have full curtains, just full sheers with small side curtains so I couldn't pull them closed. Too much light from the street.
Location: Across the street from the hospital, walking distance to the Citadel and the Commons.
Stayed at the Atlantica for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at how elegant the hotel is. My room was spacious, comfortable, well-appointed, and very clean. Nice big bathroom with Nest bath products. There was a small bar fridge for any supplies I may have brought with me, and free internet (though I had to search to find the login info). The lounge was closed for the week of my stay, but I was able to order through room service, which was quick and efficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape breton, ns

Nice hotel. Close to downtown shopping and meals

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Nice stay. Friendly staff. No complaints. Quiet hotel. Only thing noticed out of sorts was the chain lock on inside of room door, it was not functional but would hardly find that enough to complain about or give hotel incredibly low raiting! Check in/out was quick and simple. Beds were comfortable and room was incredibly clean!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NS

Didn't know pool and fitness center was under cons

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Wasn't informed that the pool and fitness center was under construction so that was a big let down. We chose this hotel because of the pool and location and it was my boyfriends birthday. Room wasn't cleaned properly as there was residue in shower and in sink. We wanted to get our laundry cleaned as there was stated that was a feature and we went to use the facilities and we were told that we weren't allowed in the area after we already had our wash in. So we had to call two times so we would be allowed access to our laundry again. Was quite a hassel. If we knew these services and facilities weren't available then we would have chosen a different hotel. On the plus, the food staff is wonderful and the food is good in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

In downtown area

Posted Jan 2, 2017
At first driving into the city we were disappointed. The area of the hotel could be better but it is really close to down town. The hotel staff were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Colleen F. - Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
So pleased that you found our team friendly. Our hotel does have a great location close to all that downtown has to offer and also close to the eclectic North end of Halifax. Hope you had a chase to check out the Emera Oval just across the street from the hotel - it is a wonderful outdoor skating oval that is truly enjoyed by all. Thanks again for your business. Hope to welcome you back very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Our family had a great stay! My husband didn't find the bed very comfortable and didn't sleep at all. I thought it was nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Colleen F. - Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. Wonderful to hear that your family enjoyed their stay! I was sorry to hear that your husband did not find the bed comfortable. It is sometimes difficult to meet everyone's sleep preference from those who enjoy firm mattresses to those who enjoy a softer bed. However, generally we do receive very positive feedback on our beds. We do appreciate your comments and your business and hope to welcome you back very soon Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Everything was good

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: clean and comfortable
Cons: none
Location: It is close to everything - downtown, waterfront, restaurants, shops, etc.
Staff was friendly and helpful. It was our first time in Halifax and the staff was able to recommend options of different styles of restaurants, from fast food to high standard, for us to decide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Excellent location for what I needed to do while in Halifax. Food at Seasons restaurant is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland & Labrador

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Nearness to hospital, cleanliness, staff
Cons: Parking is pricey-20 per day & spaces to park are too small. With a small car, my passengers still had to get out before I parked!
Location: Close to hospital and a number of restaurants and fast food places.
I was very pleased with this hotel considering the price I paid. We chose this hotel since it was near the hospital and my sister had an appointment. Great hotel with helpful staff. Rooms were very clean. Dining room has great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PEI

Affordable and easy to find

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: I liked the price especially and was pleasantly to see it was a nicer hotel .
Location: This is in downtown Halifax, a 20 minute walk to the Atlantic Museum and stores, passport, close to the public gardens, and citadel.
I arrived in Halifax at 3 am and there was a kind gentleman to greet me at front desk. Easy entry into hotel parking and a space to park while checking in. Indoor parking for vehicles under 6 feet. Nice view of the city from the higher floors. Dining was good and reasonably priced. Nice hot apple cider was offered to guess in entry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissapointing!!

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Bed bugs in my room and manager never cared when I checked out, even though my hands and neck are itchy red and swollen and I showed her she said oh well we just did renovations absolutely discusting customer service I wouldn't ever treat anybody at my work with such poor behaviour I'm appalled and she should be ashamed of herself :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Director of Sales , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I can certainly appreciate that the situation you describe would have been unsettling. Please accept our apologies we did not allay your concerns on check out. I want to assure you that your report was taken very seriously. We do have a very robust preventative maintenance program in place and the guestroom in question was immediately put out of service pending a thorough investigation by the pest control company. A report was provided by the pest control professionals indicating that absolutely no trace of insects of any kind were present in the guestroom - however, again as a preventative measure, the room was treated. In order to ease your concern, we would be pleased to provide you with a copy of the report indicating their findings and ask that you contact our Guest Service Manager, Kyle Stillwell directly if you would like this sent to you. Best regards Colleen Forward Director of Sales