Ratings based on 1,599 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Don't Think We'll Return

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location and restaurant.
Cons: REPLACE THE NASTY CARPET.
We really like the location and setting of this hotel, and really enjoy the food in the restaurant. That's about all the positive I can say this time. We arrived to a musty smelling room and a nasty carpet. The carpet was dirty spotted and smelly and a area carpet was put over part of it to try and hide the nastiness. The bathtub drain was plugged and maintenance had to come and snake it out. The water went out the first morning and we had to haul water up from the lake to flush the toilet. I don't normally take the back off the toilet tank but had to this time to pour the water in to the flush the toilet. Unfortunately this revealed a very nasty moldy situation in the tank. The water being off was because of city construction and not the hotel. The staff leave a card where you can indicate what house cleaning preferences you have. We requested cleaning the room in the morning. This did not always occur.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskoka, ON

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect compromise between downtown amenities and attractions and the airport with its own lake
Location: Lots of options in Halifax...the Citadel and HMS Sackville are great historical attractions. The Halifax board walk offers something for everyone.
Hotel is situated on a lake front within easy driving of downtown Halifax and the airport. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The weight room and pool are great. The complimentary breakfast was hearty and tasty. Staff are friendly and eager to please. We would definitely stay here again when we visit Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Nice hotel by lovely lake

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Stayed for a work trip. The hotel was apparently at full capacity but I never felt it. Place is clean, the king size bed very comfortable, water pressure in the shower was great, staff friendly and professional. The lake is amazing! The view from the road doesn't boast much; the lakefront view is lovely.The free breakfast is also appreciated with a small buffet offering something for everyone (gluten free options)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winnipeg

Nice Hotel, close to tourist spots

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Great stay and the hotel. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast which was included was excellent. The hotel has a chocolate lab house pet which was a nice treat to see and all the hotel staff pitch in an take care of him... very sweet! We recommend staying at this location... many roads getting maintenance done but didn't bother us at all!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
It was like staying in a motel, but with access to the main hotel's features. The room always seemed damp with no air circulation that I could see other then to open the door to air out the room. In the morning the daylight would come in through the cracks in the door which means that bugs could also come in as well. I'm sure that the main building was nicer, but we were in the bottom floor of what they called the East Wing and it was no different then a motel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Michelle - Guest Services Manager , Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 902-477-5611.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Box on a hill.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Drop it from the Best western league. It's not up to standard.
Location: Massive noisy road construction next to the hotel blocking the way in/out.
Rooms were over 'febreezed' to the point of nausea. Next to a noisy elevator, and some other machine that whined all night. Dining areas were unclean. Dog in foyer! Parking a nightmare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location on Chocolate Lake and good facilitie

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Didn't get to use most facilities but good buffet breakfast included. The grounds on the Lake looked very nice
Cons: Rooms were a bit small but comfortable
Location: Downtown Halifax only 10 minutes away
It was a Saturday night and some guests were outside partying quite late. The people above could have walked around a little more lightly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best Western Plus - Chocolate Lake

Posted Sep 10, 2017
This hotel is a unique find. It is one of the larger Best Western Plus hotels with a tower and ground level rooms that face the lake. It has the usual features of the Best Western hotels. In addition, one can sit outside and even swim in the lake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Experience Depends On Purpose Of Stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
My experience, good and bad, may not be relative to someone else's; it depends on the purpose of their stay. The purpose of our trip was to move our daughter into her apartment for school (we are from out of province). We purposely arrived a couple days before move-in day so we could shop for what she needed; thus, we specifically chose the drive-up suite so we could easily bring the items into the hotel room until move-in day. The parking at this hotel is ATROCIOUS. With the drive-up suite, you can only access the room from the parking lot by the lake, but when full, which all lots were every day, we needed to park along the wall at the top and walk down the hill. It was very inconvenient to say the least. In my opinion, since this lot is the only access point for these rooms, each room should have one reserved parking spot. The lakeview was often obstructed by the large SUVs and trucks parked on the grass in front of the lake, because there wasn't any other parking to accommodate them. Our view, for the majority of our stay, was a black Yukon XL, with a little sliver of lake. The room was decent but had repeat issues with the key card needing to be reprogrammed; being a smoker, I would go outside and once was locked out late at night because the card wouldn't let me back in. Breakfast was good; the staff responded quickly at a request for more coffee. The parking issues overshadow everything and it will prevent us from returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Amazing! The staff is extremely nice and professional. Very nice hotel with beautiful decor. Good price for what you get. Also, the free breakfast is really good!! Would recommend to anyone. 10/10