Ratings based on 1,347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Close to downtown Halifax. Breakfast was good too. Good view of the lake. Restaurant closes early so had to order take out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: great hot breakfast, both a lake and pool to swim in, clean rooms, laundry facilities.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Just outside Halifax, 10 minute drive.
The location is just outside Halifax. Not within walking distance unless you like a long hike. Chocolate lake is right behind the hotel and it is a clean lake which can be swam in! The free breakfast was really great! The had eggs, sausage, french toast, english muffins, cereals, coffee, juice, etc. The rooms were very clean. The restaurant was also very good. We ate dinner there one night and the food was fantastic and prices fair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Beautiful view and comfortable beds
Cons: Update and renovate
Location: As long as you have a car it was between downtown, suburbs with stores and restaurants, and Peggy's Cove
We had 2 queens with a lake view. The room was a good size and the view was beautiful. A sign said that there was bacteria in the lake but it was full of swimmers so probably not a big deal. The pool was not heated and freezing cold and the hot tub was too hot (never experienced that before). The breakfast was ok and offered limited gluten free items if asked. Sitting on the deck looking at the lake for breakfast was a great option. Overall the room and hotel needs updating. The beds were great but there were no outlets for charging phones/iPads etc. ....for this level of hotel I would expect a charging dock, not to have to go around and unplug lamps to find an outlet. Also the bathroom fan did not work. We had to open the bathroom door to let the steam out and then the smoke detector went off.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Hospital atmosphere, brutal breakfast

Posted Aug 17, 2016
This is a run down tired hotel. Booked this hotel 3-4 weeks in advance for the pool and breakfast and view. Pool was down for maintenance previous 2 weeks. No one said anything. Breakfast was almost inedible and I eat almost anything. I had a bowl of cereal. Room was the size of a Queen bed essentially. Bathroom was tiny too. View was of the back alley way. To be fair the bed was very comfortable and the linens were excellent. And rooms in main hotel are probably better. Location is far from downtown in the middle of nowhere so for almost $200 per night, I think you could do better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on a lake you can swim in

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Great place to stay would recommend it to friends and would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Airdrie AB

Great hotel, excellent restaurant

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Enjoyed staying in Halifax, lots to see. Great city to end our vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: location and food
Location: not much to do nearby had to drive
great stay room was great, breakfast was very good, the restaurant is very nice and the food good. wish our room had of been facing the lake instead of street,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NB, Canada

Beautiful scenic view of lake.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Great breakfast, perfect place to walk around lake, friendly and very helpful staff. Have stayed here every trip to Halifax and will continue to do so.Quiet location and pet friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Great hotel with helpful friendly staff. Restaurant was excellent. Lake swimming a was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unexpected findings

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pool area closed down indefinitely. Same buffet breakfast for three days. NO Smoking rules need to be enforced.