Ratings based on 1,129 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Good value, good location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Location: About a block from the Citadel - well worth a visit. A few blocks from the waterfront boardwalk, with lots of activities
Pleasant suite - fit our family of 6 fine. Nice (free) breakfast. Good location - a few blocks from the waterfront. Staff is really friendly and helpful! Great value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario

I would stay here again

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nice staff, elevators were quick and rooms were clean and spacious.
Cons: Roof top patio was not much. I would spend some money on it to make it something people want to visit.
Location: Tons of bars and restaurants and cafes close by. Citadel is right at the door steps
Close to restaurants and places of interest. Parking was spacious and easy to use. Room was spacious. It is at the top of the hill so bring good shoes if walking up and down from the hotel. Nothing a quick $4 cab ride can't fix! I would stay there again in a heart beat. Worked for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2017
This hotel is a perfect spot for touring around Halifax!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Made to feel unwelcome

Posted Aug 10, 2017
When we checked in on Thursday July 27th the staff did not mention that there was construction going on and would likely disrupt our sleep the following morning. We were woken up at 7am to loud drilling noises. When we asked the front desk staff about it they were not helpful at all and did not offer any sort of solution to the problem. Later that day (July 28th) we noticed a paper posted in the elevator advising of a water shutdown scheduled for the following day from 10am-1pm. The hotel checkout is at 1pm so we had no water for the last 3 hours of our stay. We were again woken up at 7am from the construction noise. Around 10pm we were talking in our room, no loud music was playing and hotel security came to the door to tell us we were being too loud. We spoke to the front desk agent about this and they informed us the hotel has a 24-hour quiet policy. This was a surprise to us as we were woken up both mornings with no warning from the hotel. I was very disappointed with the way the hotel handled all of these situations. There was no offer to compensate us for the inconveniences of the construction and the water shutdown. I will not be returning to this hotel and will advise all friends, family, and coworkers to avoid booking here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Breton, NS

Nice clean hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Nice and clean and close to everything! Check in was at 3. We showed up at 5 and our room wasn't ready. Other then that it is a great hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Good size rooms, comfy beds, and very clean. Great roof top patio. Good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.C.

walking distance to amenities downtown

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: smelly rooms
Location: citadel Hill, harbour walk and down walk with plenty of places to eat
the room we stayed in had very unpleasant odour, and the staff was made aware, they sprayed it with air freshner, which did not make any difference. Next day they moved us to a different room which was slightly better. It's an old hotel with old carpets, needs renos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brampton, ON

Fabulous stay!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Really great hotel. Staff was excellent. There was some construction around us but it really didn't affect our trip. Rooftop patio is amazing!! A really great hotel in a really great city. Our family loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Hotel was situated at top of hill. Walk down to Pier or up to Citadel. Close to restaurants. Great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Enjoyed Halifax

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Cleanness
Cons: Swimming Pool
Location: Citadel
Our family stayed 1 night and was clean,nice and was comfortable and 5 minutes walk to Citadel was bonus!