Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staff were pleasant; the room, while not the most modern, was clean and cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Digby, NS

Awesome Stay in the Suite

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I stayed in the king one bed suite for a night. The carpets/walls were like any other typical hotel room.. ever so slightly out dated. That doesn't bother me a bit as the room was clean and tidy. The king bed was super comfortable. I was very happy about this as I don't sleep well. I had no problems sleeping that night. I went to use the blow dryer and it started smoking. I informed the two at front desk, they gave me a replacement and came up to the room to check/unplug the original. All around I loved the room/hotel and will be back on my next stay (maybe I'll have more time to use the pool too)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
No hot breakfast on weekends...like really why..when the price is not droppedal due to that poor advertisment. First time in my 50 years of traveling did I ever get charge $50 extra on My credit card till I checked out not trusting how I would respect the room. I am 64 years old and have been asked or had to do that before. Will never return to your hotel again and will pass on to others to stay away as
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
We apologize you found it inconvenient for the extra authorization on your credit card for "incidentals' which is a fairly normal practice among various hotels. We never charge upon check in, it is a pre-authorization only. The actual charge is made upon your departure for the room and taxes and any possible long distance phone calls.. Again, we are sorry you were not pleased with one of our hotel policies and regret that you will not return because of it. Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best comfy beds :)

Posted Feb 3, 2017
I was surprised and delighted lovely place. Beds were the best part.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review score. We strive hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us and so pleased you enjoyed yours. Thank you again and we hope to see you sometime in the future. Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Cons: Breakfast was very sufficient but the fridge where yogurt was kept was not cold.
We enjoyed our stay very much. We will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments as we appreciate everything our guests have to say. Thank you for letting us know about the mini fridge where the yoghourt is displayed as we will have our maintenance check into that for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Comfortable and Good Location

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Comfortable bed. Clean space. Friendly staff. Very basic. Good location for exploring the city and surrounding areas. Great for escaping the city bustle without being too far away. Groceries and restaurants close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coatsla Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you for all your great comments. We are so glad you found our location to be convenient for your needs while staying in Halifax. We certainly look forward to seeing you again sometime soon in the future! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Served the purpose

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Staff are friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. Everything is included so you don't run into wifi or parking fees. Breakfast does the trick.
Cons: More selection of hot breakfast items.
Location: Located very near a major shopping area with restaurants and coffee shops of every type.
This hotel is centrally located to good shopping areas. Includes parking, wifi and breakfast and is perfectly tidy and clean. I always stay here if I have medical appointments as the price is very reasonable and comparable to other properties on expedia and such sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you for all your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all the feedback our guests may have and we are glad you found our location convenient for your purposes. We want to thank you for returning time after time and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Halifax. Kimberly Clarke, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Nice stay

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Felt very comfortable. Had everything I needed. Everything was clean and provided for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
We are so glad you had a nice stay and had everything you needed. Thank you for your great score and we hope to see you again real soon! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price, overall just average

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We stayed in this hotel for one night with two toddlers. We booked the room with king size bed and pull out couch thinking the pull out couch would do for own 4 year old and we brought our own playpen for our 2 year old. The pull out couch was super hard to get opened and once staff helped us open it out I saw how awful shape the matress was. It was so uncomfortable, could feel absolutely every spring in it and they had thrown an even worst lumpy comforter on top to try and make it more comfy. On the bright side, i liked the fact that there was a door to separate the 2 rooms and it was pretty clean. I would recommend it to someone unless you are planning to use the pull out couch as a bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for all your comments as we appreciate knowing how our guests enjoyed their stay. Thank you for mentioning the pull out sofa as we are actually just putting together our list of mattresses to replace and some of the pull outs are high up on that list for this spring. We are glad you found the room clean and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

it was a friendly place to stay

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: quiet and affordable
Cons: a restaurant within the hotel
Location: there was lots of shops and entertainment nearby as well as access to the highway nearby
our first nite was planned and staff was very helpful and friendly.We stayed a second nite because the hotel was so comfortable with the feeling of home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
We love reading how a one night stay turns into two nights! Thank you so much for all your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay so much the first night that you stayed the second. We certainly hope to see you again soon! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager