Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Love this hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Stay here often for different reasons. Love the locality and the staff. Always friendly and polite. Will be back again soon I imagine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool,NS

Great location and the right price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. The location was perfect within 5 minutes of every where we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. I like that it is close to shopping.
Our stay at the hotel was relaxing, what I like about it is that every time we stay there it is quiet and relaxing. My only complaint this time is that I did not find the bed as comfortable and we could have used extra towels in the bathroom. There was only two bath towels, two hand towels, and two face cloths.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staff were pleasant; the room, while not the most modern, was clean and cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Digby, NS

Awesome Stay in the Suite

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I stayed in the king one bed suite for a night. The carpets/walls were like any other typical hotel room.. ever so slightly out dated. That doesn't bother me a bit as the room was clean and tidy. The king bed was super comfortable. I was very happy about this as I don't sleep well. I had no problems sleeping that night. I went to use the blow dryer and it started smoking. I informed the two at front desk, they gave me a replacement and came up to the room to check/unplug the original. All around I loved the room/hotel and will be back on my next stay (maybe I'll have more time to use the pool too)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
No hot breakfast on weekends...like really why..when the price is not droppedal due to that poor advertisment. First time in my 50 years of traveling did I ever get charge $50 extra on My credit card till I checked out not trusting how I would respect the room. I am 64 years old and have been asked or had to do that before. Will never return to your hotel again and will pass on to others to stay away as
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
We apologize you found it inconvenient for the extra authorization on your credit card for "incidentals' which is a fairly normal practice among various hotels. We never charge upon check in, it is a pre-authorization only. The actual charge is made upon your departure for the room and taxes and any possible long distance phone calls.. Again, we are sorry you were not pleased with one of our hotel policies and regret that you will not return because of it. Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best comfy beds :)

Posted Feb 3, 2017
I was surprised and delighted lovely place. Beds were the best part.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review score. We strive hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us and so pleased you enjoyed yours. Thank you again and we hope to see you sometime in the future. Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Cons: Breakfast was very sufficient but the fridge where yogurt was kept was not cold.
We enjoyed our stay very much. We will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments as we appreciate everything our guests have to say. Thank you for letting us know about the mini fridge where the yoghourt is displayed as we will have our maintenance check into that for us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Comfortable and Good Location

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Comfortable bed. Clean space. Friendly staff. Very basic. Good location for exploring the city and surrounding areas. Great for escaping the city bustle without being too far away. Groceries and restaurants close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Coatsla Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you for all your great comments. We are so glad you found our location to be convenient for your needs while staying in Halifax. We certainly look forward to seeing you again sometime soon in the future! Kimberly Clarke, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Served the purpose

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Staff are friendly. Rooms are spacious and clean. Everything is included so you don't run into wifi or parking fees. Breakfast does the trick.
Cons: More selection of hot breakfast items.
Location: Located very near a major shopping area with restaurants and coffee shops of every type.
This hotel is centrally located to good shopping areas. Includes parking, wifi and breakfast and is perfectly tidy and clean. I always stay here if I have medical appointments as the price is very reasonable and comparable to other properties on expedia and such sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Coastal Inn Halifax, Hotel Management
Thank you for all your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all the feedback our guests may have and we are glad you found our location convenient for your purposes. We want to thank you for returning time after time and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Halifax. Kimberly Clarke, General manager