Ratings based on 904 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and service

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I thought I booked at the Delta barrington but it turned out it was the other one, I called Expedia and got them to switch the booking over to the Barrington and the front desk and phone service was handled very greatly, I appreciated the no BS and easy transfer to the sister hotel. The Tempo's bar and food at the restaurant at the Delta is amazing and we will be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Guy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the service at the desk, we always strive to be as flexible as possible to meet guest requests. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed Tempo as well, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Just stayed for one night. Check-in was quick and there was no line-up. Check out was easy. Nice location close to everything in downtown Halifax. Valet service was quick.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Delta Barrington. We are glad to hear that your stay went smoothly, and that our staff were able to assist you quickly and efficiently. We hope you will be back with us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Great downtown location.
Staff is wonderful and helpful. Hotel is centrally located downtown making it easy to walk to sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review of your stay. Our staff really enjoy what they do and posts like this really show that it comes across in their service. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team. We hope you will be back with us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thorold, ON

Conveniently located hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: The room decor was a bit outdated, there was patterned carpets, a different pattern on the curtains, and yet another on the wall paper.
Location: East end of downtown, walking distance to Casino, waterfront, and downtown shops and services, directly across the street from Scotia Square Mall, etc
We chose the hotel because of the valet parking, and the convenient location. Our overnight visit plans were to walk the waterfront and have dinner at The Press Gang. The location, services, and cleanliness of the hotel made our night very enjoyable and accessible. We had our car parked for us and then walked wherever we wanted to go downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Cheryl. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to continue to grow and improve as a team. We anticipate more information on our property renovation in the coming months, as we further integrate into the Marriott family of hotels. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

The room was big enough to play basketball in!

Posted Sep 3, 2017
And my kids did play basketball in the room! I think you should replace the pool liner and redo it properly. Close to the pier but there should be entry back into the sky walk at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Julia! I'm glad to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed your room and our location near the waterfront. Thank you for your feedback regarding the pool; we will have our maintenance team look into it to ensure it is functioning properly. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We arrived at the hotel and the front desk girl was rude and uninformed. There was a bit of a language barrier which still didn't make up for the language barrier. Our room was tiny and extremely outdated, beds were very uncomfortable. The pool liner was loose and there were rust spots around the exterior, not to mention the area was covered in dirty towels. Our room service order was wrong... twice. The only positive note I have are the valets .. these men go above and beyond and have such a sweet kind demenor. Kudos to them for making our stay more bearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Delta Barrington. I apologize that we fell short on several aspects of your stay. Trust that these are not our normal standards and we will have your concerns looked into as this is not the kind of experience we want our guests to have. I'm glad to hear that our valet staff had such a memorable impact on your experience. We hope to welcome you back to a better experience the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nova scotia.

close to casino and schooner room for music concer

Posted Aug 29, 2017
needs a facelift.room clean but worn.Bed lumpy.Chairs old and worn..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Sherry! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry the current appearance of our guest rooms was not what you anticipated. We anticipate more information on our property renovation in the coming months, as we further integrate into the Marriott family of hotels. In the meantime, our team is committed to maintaining the highest standard in cleanliness and staff service. We hope to welcome you back in the future when our renovations are completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel in downtown Halifax

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Close to the ocean, walkable to many restaurants, citadel, on the main Street. Next street up is where the airport bus stops. Convenient. Quiet and comfortable. Our view was a concrete wall of the neighboring office building. I felt like the toilet used up 10 litres of water with each flush due to low pressure suction. Breakfast wasn't free. Gym and pool were clean although I didn't use them but looked around. No concerns. Recomended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you Kozlio for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize that you experienced an issue with the water pressure and that the view was not what you had expected. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only good thing is the location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Dissappointed with our stay the other night at the Delta by Marriott Barrington. The hotel is outdated. The staff is very unknowledgeable. Simple questions like what time does the restaurant serve breakfast until (was told 10am by the lady at the count, which was corrected by the valet attendant to 11am). When checking out, our breakfast wasn't reimbursed, when I question it, the lady behind the counter reimbursed for two of us. I told her there were four of us in the room so we should all be reimbursed. She seemed annoyed and reimbursed me for the four meals with the exception of taxes and gratuities and said something like "there, okay. You pay the taxes and gratuities." Definitley don't recommend this hotel to stay at and with your pick of many other hotels in Halifax, I'd recommend staying away from this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Delta Barrington. I apologize that we fell short on several aspects of your stay. Receiving the incorrect information can be incredibly frustrating; trust that these are not our normal standards and we will have your concerns looked into. We hope to welcome you back to a better experience the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place to stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel was beautiful and a warm breakfast was served. Although breakfast came with our package, it was not a buffet breakfast and we had to pay on taxes on top of our "free" breakfast. For a family of five, the room size was a little small but other than that the beds were super comfortable and clean. Since, it was located in the heart of downtown, valet parking was available which added to the price. Overall, we had a nice night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! We are very sorry the current appearance of our guest rooms was not what you anticipated. We anticipate more information on our property renovation in the coming months, as we further integrate into the Marriott family of hotels and hope to see you again.