Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Hated to pay $20 to park after paying so much for room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint John, NB

Great location to walk downtown

Posted Sep 28, 2016
It was my 30th birthday and I could not have chosen a better hotel to stay at! It was great to be able to park the car there and walk to the bars, restaurants, and waterfront. Tina at the guest service desk heard it was my birthday when she checked me in. I was pleasantly surprised to get to my room that evening to find a piece of cheesecake and a card left for me wishing a happy birthday, signed by Tina. How sweet is that?! The cheesecake was delicious! I will be staying at Delta Halifax everytime I visit now. Excellent service and very comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Gym
Cons: N/A
Location: Restaurants, bars, harbour
Hotel was located in downtown Halifax near many restaurants and bars. Good location for a visit to the city. Clean rooms and competent staff. Parking facilities if you have a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Delta Halifax. We are so happy to learn our central location, clean rooms and competent staff helped ensure you had a good stay with us. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great downtown location but overpriced dated hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Heating and air conditioning,new sink, update bathroom. Provide more than two glasses in the room and more than two disposable cups for coffee.
Location: Location great can walk to everything downtown, the Citadel, the public gardens, the boardwalk, the Blue Nose, bars and restaurants and shopping
On holiday, booked though Expedia, had thought we were booking directly with the hotel website, thought we booked the Delta Barrington, but when we got there discivered weren't booked there, fortunately the hotel reception found our reservation at the Delta Halifax and the valet drove us to the Delta Halifax. I thought the rooms were expensive for the dated hotel rooms, and the heating air conditioning was horrible, choice to suffocate or freeze and listen to the noise of the air conditioner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Delta Halifax. I am sorry for the confusion you experienced when reserving your room. I am very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas. We hope to receive word that these renovations will begin in the near future. Thank you again for reviewing your recent experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Nice Walkable Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about Halifax goings on.
Cons: Our curtains didn't close (!) Even when stretched as far as possible, lots of light came in from the streetlights just outside the window.
Location: Every major Halifax attraction downtown is walkable from this hotel.
Stayed six days, five nights. Tried the hot tub, pool, exercise room, observation lounge, hotel restaurant. All of these were fine. My main complaint was the view. We paid for a "harbour view" room, and when we got there we saw that at least 30% of the view from our window was actually the roof of the hotel / parking lot beneath us. For what we'd paid for the room, I'd hoped for one higher up. We'd made the reservation well in advance, so it's not like we booked at the last minute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Delta Halifax. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for they disappointments you experienced during your stay. We are happy to accommodate all requests for high floor rooms, and would be very happy to have the opportunity to ensure you received a high floor room the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Second night on our honeymoon and pleasant surprise...we found chocolate dipped strawberries in our fridge from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Delta Halifax. We are very honored you chose our hotel for your honeymoon, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the treat we sent up to help you celebrate. Thank you for choosing us for such a memorable experience, and we hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Halifax.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Staff was amazing Overall hotel just a little outdated Elevators were a bit of a problem Location was perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Delta Halifax. We are so happy to learn our central location offered you easy access to many different areas in downtown Halifax. We are also delighted to learn the you found our staff amazing! We will be sure to share you compliments with our team. We hope to welcome you back to a newly renovated product soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eliot, Maine

The climate control unit is VERY loud!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The staff at the front desk is very nice and helpful!
Cons: Air conditioning unit and the beds can use improvements.
The air conditioning/heating unit is super loud. We tried turning it off to sleep but the room would get too hot within 30 minutes. This hotel was disappointing overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with Delta Halifax. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for noisy air conditioning unit in your room. We have shared your feedback with our Maintenance team to ensure that this was an isolated issue. We are happy to hear our staff were so helpful and friendly! We hope to welcome you back to a better experience the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

OK hotel close to haboir

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Needs updating but very clean otherwise the staff were very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Delta Halifax. We are very happy to learn your room was very clean, and our staff were so friendly. I am very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this sometimes requires essential renovations in our guest areas. We hope to receive word that these renovations will begin very soon. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Found a pair of shoes under the bed... They weren't ours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Delta Halifax with us. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are traveling to Halifax, so we can ensure you receive the Delta Experience you should expect and deserve when choosing to stay with Delta Hotels.