Ratings based on 930 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Mouton, N.S

great hotel worth while staying to

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: this hotel is spotless, very clean, friendly staff, room are very comfortable
Cons: nothing needs to be improved
Location: located on Halifax waterfront where there is lots to do, all within walking distance, casino located just across the road from hotel,
its a great place to stay, centrally located where there is lots to do, lot of bars if you enjoy bar hoping, live bands playing at the Lower Deck every night, who has great staff working there, restaurants , hotel located just across the road from the halifax waterfront. all within walking distance
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Guy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Janet. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Delta Halifax, as well as its convenient location in the downtown core. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the water front.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Great staff and very nice restaurant. Close to shopping and waterfront.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Guy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great experience at the Delta Halifax. We pride ourselves on our dedication to exceeding expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Halifax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto, on

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The staff weren't helpful with basic questions and attempted to double charge us for our stay. Once we got to the room there was garbage left over from previous guests and the lamp was broken. We also had to call the front desk regarding the Wi-Fi, which wasn't working, and the hotel tried to charge us for the call. Though we argued the charge and had it removed, no charges should be triggered by calling the front desk. Overall the experience was poor, and I won't be staying at this delta location again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Delta Halifax. I apologize that we fell short on several aspects of your stay. Trust that these are not our normal standards and we will have your concerns looked into. We hope to welcome you back to a better experience the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Good experience. Very friendly staff which were very helpful when I had questions about how to get around the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so glad to hear our staff were helpful during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antigonish

Close to Amenities

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Overall was a decent stay. Staff was good and hotel overall was clean. Was dusappointed they didn't have bottled water in the room and no water or pop machine in the vending/ice room. If your spending $200 + on a stay...at least than can do is have some water in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Jim, thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Delta Halifax. I'm sorry to hear that there was no bottled water in your room - this is something that should be in all rooms when you arrive. I will be sure you pass on your feedback to the appropriate team. We do have a variety of vending machines throughout the hotel - some floors have snacks, some have water/pop - it appears that you may have been on a floor with snacks. We hope to see you back again the next time your travels bring you to Halifax.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Dated

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The bed
Location: Good location for site seeing
Dated decor, confusing lobby layout, too much adjacent construction going on, unwelcoming entry, tired exterior
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Delta Halifax. As you noticed, there are some updates happening on the exterior entrance of the hotel this week. We hope to have more renovation plans in place soon, and to welcome you back on your next visit to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location. Close to everything.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location. Rom size.
Cons: Keys
Location: Shopping, dining, great sight seeing.
I had a problem with my key daily. I had to go to the front desk twice. I had 2 keys tag rarely worked on first try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Guy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Delta Halifax. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with your keys. We hope to welcome you back to a better experience the next time you are traveling to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

A Good Stay

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Super clean. Nice common areas. Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The front entrance drop off area was difficult to navigate. They could improve the signage.
While the hotel itself is fine, and the staff great, the location was tricky as a first timer to Halifax. There are 2 separate Delta hotels here! And they are right across the street from each other! If you are driving, finding the entrance can be a challenge. We came from the 'wrong' direction and were instructed that we would need to make a UTurn to get in the driveway. The upside of the location is that you are steps away from the waterfront, great restaurants, and attractions. While they have ample parking, it's a bit of a labyrinth between the garage and the hotel. It may not be the fanciest hotel in town, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Delta Halifax. We are in a unique position of having our two Deltas across from each other. I am glad to see that despite the initial confusion that the rest of your stay went well. We hope to see you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PEI Canada

Nice hotel in downtown. Easy access by walking

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean. Quiet.
Location: Downtown core. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping.
It was an excellent hotel. Quiet. Clean. Friendly helpful front desk staff. Felt welcomed. Was in downtown core and could access all downtown by walking rather than driving and trying to find a parking place. Would recommend and will be coming back in the future. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Guy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Karen. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We're pleased to hear that our location was convenient for you, we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the harbour and ships

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Read above
Cons: Bathroom is small
Location: Fantastic....can walk to the Casino without having to step outside. Close walking distance to all of downtown
Spent 2 days in HALIFAX...great time....heading out to dinner and the front desk noticed we stopped when we saw it was raining. WIthin seconds they handed over 2 umbrellas!(excellent)! I had mentioned that I did not know the route to Peggys Cove. Later as we headed out a young lady had over heard my concern and she took it upon herself to provide me with a print out of the directions to Peggys Cove. Kudos to your front desk staff and those in the restaurant. Terrific folks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Elesthe, Rooms Controller, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Our teams are focused on ensuring you have everything you need to be comfortable, and we're happy to hear we were able to assist you on several occasions. We hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!