Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from little harbour nova scotia

Nice newly renovated and clean .

Posted May 27, 2017
Close to a lake for nice leisurely walk. Grocery store walking distance.breakfast and dinning room one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Our room needed new curtains. Breakfast dinning made you feel like you were very special. China to eat of, tables decorated, food hot and tasted home made. We would go back there again just for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest , thank you so much for your review , we truly appreciate it. Steve McNutt Guest Services Manager Hearthstone Inn , Dartmouth , NS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and comfortable.

Posted May 23, 2017
Booked for my daughter and she was very pleased. Easy to book online. Overall great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review , the staff truly appreciate it as do I. Steve McNutt Hearthstone Inn , Dartmouth , NS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient & nice location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: recent renovations, good location for visiting Dartmouth area, feels like coming home
Location: good overnight stop when crossing the province, close to beaches, harbour, shopping, museums, restaurants
efficient staff, reasonable rates, and good location
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest , thank you for you kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Steve McNutt Guest Services Manager Hearthstone Inn , Dartmouth , NS
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Posted May 4, 2017
The receptionist Amanda was very bubbly and helpful. Any of the staff you came across were very personable. The hotel was always being cleaned . For as busy as it was it was very quiet. The area the hotel is in is a little run down. A former motel made into apartments is across the street and a big apartment complex is there as well. Now that I'm familiar with the hotel. I would go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest , thank you so much for your feedback , we truly appreciate it.We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Steve McNutt Guest Services Manager Hearthstone Inn , Dartmouth , NS
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NS

Not what I was expecting for the price

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly. The rooms were clean.
Cons: The rooms are in massive need of renovation.
Location: Location leaves a lot to be desired, with slum-lord ran apartment buildings basically sharing a parking lot with the building.
Our stay was pleasant enough. The staff were friendly. The rooms were clean. The rooms are in massive need of renovation, though. Appliances were yellowed with age, tiles were cracked and lifting, the wood veneer on the bathroom door was peeling off. Tub and sink were stained and worn. Other than that, it was a perfectly serviceable hotel room. Location leaves a lot to be desired, with slum-lord ran apartment building basically sharing a parking lot with the building. I expected more given what I payed and what the other ratings on the site implied.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest , I am very sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss it directly with you. If you would kindly forward your contact information with me , I will reach out to you in hopes to make it up to you. Sincerely , Steve McNutt Guest Services Manager Hearthstone Inn , Dartmouth , NS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottetown, PEI

Very friendly and great experience

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Walked in to the hotel and the great experience started with greeting and help with checking in. The room was good size and very clean. The bedding was awesome so soft and very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with everything you would want. This hotel is going through a wonderful change to bring back to an old style boutique inn. Excellent value for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Old hotel in dartmouth

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Old hotel, recently renovated , great for what you pay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Steve, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest , thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Steve McNutt Guest Services Manager Hearthstone Inn , Dartmouth , NS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
While there was some ongoing maintenance while I was there, the staff was extremely helpful and all issued were resolved within minutes of arriving.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Outdated and poorly maintained

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Decent hot breakfast in a nice setting
Cons: Rooms and especially bathrooms need updating badly. Improve wifi
Location: Not a great area of town. Not much to walk to. Wouldn't be walking outside after dark in this area
Rooms were pretty rundown with many bandaid fixes. My room looked out on old houses with barking dogs. Wifi was painfully slow. Breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

not clean

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The bathtub had a few hairs in it. I made them change my room. Staff was amazing just feel hotel needs a face lift and is let go