Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Wonderful hotel with all olde world charm

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Fantastic place, quiet and very characterful. Perfect staff with great decor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire england

Romantic historical hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Fabulous food at dinner and breakfast . Beautiful hotel restored to its former glory you are in an oasis of living history . Staff couldn't do enough ! Real fires , wood panels , friendly bar and beautiful gardens . A delight !
4 out of 5
by Roger

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel has excellent charm and ambience, staff were helpful professional and nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent, All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice Hotel Good location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: The typical English Style
Staff were excellent cheerful and Helpful, Room small but comfortable the restaurant Food were great
5 out of 5
by Emily

Hotel with character!

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Spent a wonderful night in this beautiful hotel with lots of character and gorgeous grounds! We had a lovely dinner in the bar and tea on the lawn in the garden. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and staff attentive and considerate. Would definitely recommend this wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ga. USA

Lovely One NIght Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The grounds are immaculate. Friendly staff and excellent food.
Cons: Make Sarah Lancashire stay there forever.
Arrived before check in time but staff went out of their way to get my room ready early. Staff was very friendly and the rooom was excellent. Met friends for dinner and when leaving the dining room one of them turned her chair over when getting up. It broke a lovely platter. She was mortified, but the manager went out of his way to make her feel okay. Nice of you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appkey Bridge Gr Manchester

Beautiful wedding reception location

Posted May 26, 2017
Very friendly welcoming staff. Food gorgeous and a decent Yorkshire breakfast to boot. Will probably return to investigate the area the history and rest awhile
5 out of 5
by Andy

Perfect place to stay in Halifax

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, which has recently undergone some work to the restarant. Dinner and breakfast is first class and the restaurant is always very busy in the evenings with non-guests; which shows how the food is regarded in the local area. The rooms are slightly dated, but fine for a solo business person who wants a nice quiet nights rest in an idillic setting. Not a huge amount around in terms of the local area, but that wasn't the purpose of my visit. I would definitely stay again and this is my defacto hotel of choice when in the Halifax area. The Wifi is also pretty good, considering the age of the building and all those thick brick walls. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best Hotel i've stayed in this last year,

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I was hoping that this hotel was out of the town and was a little concerned when I saw the location was in the suburbs of Halifax however was pleasantly surprised at the peace and lack of noise both traffic and neighbourly. It was the best night's sleep i've had in a hotel lovely comfy bed and the cleanliness 10 out of 10. Staff very friendly and accomodating. Food very good . I really couldn't fault this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Lovely from start to finish. Very welcoming staff and a beautiful hotel.