Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolfville, NS

Disappointed

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Cons: The rooms.....
I'm not sure what's going on at this location but the room was not nearly as clean/nice as my other experiences at other Holiday Inns. For the condition of the rooms, I would have expected a much cheaper rate in line with the local motels...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax

Dirty rooms

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The bed sheets had human hair all over, they said our bill would be adjusted accordingly and then they offered us one free breakfast. Last time I stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga Ontario

super location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Lots to do and see in Halifax. If you take the city tour be sure and ask for David, the ex principal as your tour guide. He was amazing.
This hotel is situated right beside the MacDonald bridge in Dartmouth and just a few minutes drive into downtown Halifax. Even though the hotel is presently under construction it is clean and the staff extremely courteous. This is the 2nd year we have stayed here and will return if we visit Halifax again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bathroom sink isnt in bathroom...

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: I liked how nice and helpful the staff were, and the cleanliness
Cons: Bathroom was way too small, the coffee machine wasnt near any electrical outlets.
Location: Right by the bridge (closed for repairs mostly), had a carnival going on across the street and dominos delivers to your door!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely experience with our staff! However, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you also mentioned. Please know that once renovations are complete, the bathroom will be more accessible. Your feedback about the coffee machine and outlets is also very helpful once we begin reconfiguring the guestrooms. Again, thank you and we can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel post-renovations!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia did not inform of outdoor pool and hot tub

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Staff good, lack of accurate info from Expedia on this information, hotel was less expensive to book direct.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Easy Dartmouth ferry access

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom cleanliness
Thankfully there were indications of renovations and improvements being done on the upper floors - we were on the 3rd floor (not renovated during early Sept stay) and our room was definitely out of date. The proximity to the Dartmouth ferry terminal was the major reason for staying as there are better options on the Halifax side when not booked up! The shower/toilet room (separate outside sink - convenient) was grungy - mold in places, evidence of humidity damage, and the fan didn't work. The beds were comfortable, but only double beds were available due to an over-booking error. Staff were friendly, accommodating, and a pleasure to deal with! The hotel is pretty conveniently located to some restaurants, coffee shops, the Dartmouth bus terminal, and the aforementioned ferry terminal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and hope to welcome you back once we are a brand new hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

Old, tiny & expensive

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We stayed during construction which we didn't know about, our window view was a large garbage bin which was great. The room was the smallest room I had ever seen with s large price tag! The bathtub was so old it was yellow it also had other people's hair all over the edge of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences and appreciate your patience and understanding as we go through renovations. We hope you will give us a chance to make things better once we are fully renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Construction

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Good location near the ferry and downtown Dartmouth.
Cons: It would be nice to have a refrigerator in the room.
Location: Good location; easy walk to the ferry to Halifax, easy walk to downtown Dartmouth, near the Macdonald bridge to Halifax.
We didn't know when we booked our stay that the hotel was being renovated. Part of the lobby was closed off, and only one elevator was working. The room was nice, with comfortable beds, but there was no refrigerator, and the bathroom was small. The restaurant was expensive, not recommended by staff; better choices in Dartmouth and Halifax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Poor reception staff. No initiative or helpfulness

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Dinner
Cons: Reception staff. And the lift.
Location: Isolated from anyshops restaurants etc
Apart from dinner, which was excellent, the hotel is missable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your most recent stay with us. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to make it up to you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Nice hotel, good parking, not good internet such as many middle class hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review - it's feedback such as yours that allows us to improve in areas which may not be exceeding guests' expectations. We apologize that internet speed caused an inconvenience and we will be following up with our internet provider immediately. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.