Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

NOT Wheelchair accessible, mis represented!!

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: They could get new owners who speak English and who don't lie just to get a buck.
Location: Location is fine.
. I called from my cell phone, before I booked the rooms, and I asked the front desk if they were wheelchair accessible. I told the person I talked to that there could be no steps as I was in a wheelchair, and that I needed a large bathroom because of it. He assured me that they had a suitable room, so I booked two rooms for two nights through Expedia. When my family and friends arrived at the Lake City Motel, I could tell at a glance I had been lied to. Every room I could see had steps going in to the room, and I cannot walk. Also, the doors were too narrow for a wheelchair to fit through. My daughter went inside, and signed in, and they took my card imprint. She got the keys, and went to the room to check it out. It was NOT suitable, and so she went back to the desk and told them that I would never be able to get into the room they had assigned, could I please be moved to a room with level access. We could see that they did have a few rooms like that in a short corridor. They told us those rooms were full and were smoking (I cannot use a smoking room due to my health) and so we knew we could not stay at that motel. I had to call and drive around at 9 at night to find another room at a reasonable cost. I found two rooms in Bedford for almost 100 dollars MORE, but I had no choice, I could NOT stay at Lake City Motel. The owners were very rude to us and they charged us for TWO nights in spite of none of us staying there. I am in a legal battle with them still.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

skip this place

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I would not recommend this place. Dirty washroom, cigarette burns on blankets and carpet, power outlets don't work. I'm a smoker and found the smell of this place almost unbearable. Didn't really feel safe in this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

1 night stay

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Proximity to restaurants. Also, the hotel has laundry facilities, as well as a kitchen area (down in the basement). Spacious room.
Cons: Work on decreasing the smell of cigarette smoke in the rooms and the laundry/ktichen area.
Location: Several family friendly restaurants nearby, and petrol station across the road.
Accommodation was acceptable, but let down by the smell of cigarette smoke in the room. Only there for the one night before flying out, so didn't really do much in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Cons: ramps to all ground level rooms.
Housekeeping did not leave coffee for the second nignt/morning and didn't leave clean coffee cups. I would have preferred better/thicker pillows. Had to fold them in half to get somewhat comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Breton

It was close to the airport only about 15 minutes

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Experience was good have no complaints if you want a place to relax and stay close to the city it's good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Ended up in a smoking room. The walls were yellow from the nicotine. We had booked two nights but only stayed one. The smell was awful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Not even worth the price

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Furniture renewal Cleanliness of the room
Location: Close to groceries, liquor store, restaurants and major roads
Very tatty motel with very tatty furniture. The bed cover of the 2 beds were torn up, and some furniture dusty. 1 positive aspect of the room: wood floor. On a 4 night stay, we only asked once to clean up the room and ended up with the same dirt on the floor. Staff was kind but upon arrival the person at the reception barely understood English. Warning for people with pets, they charge 10$ a night for EACH pet brought in the room. Location of the motel is very good, close to restaurants, groceries, liquor store and many other stores.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unsatisfactory.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Not much. The picture online doesn't represent the actual place. I don't what angle they could possibly have taken it from.
Cons: The cleaners barely did anything.
Location: It was convenient to me.
The room was unsatisfactory to say the least. There were unsavoury characters hanging around. I would never stay here again. I left a day earlier than I planned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ont.

Nothing Special

Posted Jul 13, 2016
This hotel was clean and the beds were not bad. The bathroom was outdated and small. The caulking around the tub was turning brown and the vanity top was made out of the same tiles as the floor. Did the job but glad we were only staying one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dartmouth

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Cons: see above
dead bolt not working;I was concerned about safety