Ratings based on 1,037 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Fantastic hotel great location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
This is a stylish hotel which is very comfortable and centrally located. Staff are lovely. Fun bar and good food. So nice not to be in a big chain hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria, B.C.

Great Location!

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Well maintained, clean, large room with view of the harbour.
Cons: Our only complaint having our room near the elevators was the noise, the whooping, rambunctious partying guests returning to their rooms late at night
Location: Near the Citadel, near restaurants, shops and the waterfront boardwalk. It is an ideal location.
We were greeted by Nick a very lovely young man who helped us from our car to the front desk and had our car parked. The front desk staff were very helpful and got us checked in quickly. The bartender Debra was friendly and patient with me...a fussy wine drinker...she was very good at her job. All the staff were friendly...our breakfast was great! It is a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice updates and perfect location

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Hotel and staff were wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay and a very reasonable rate for the location and convenience of getting around by walking or quick taxi rides. We brought our small dog and he was treated with such a nice gift when we arrived. Lots of great little details thought of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Very clean, excellent staff & close to many activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from houston

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Clean hotel, courteous staff, spacious rooms. Lots is restaurants and pubs in walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Real let down, poor value for what we spent

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Nice staff
Location: Halifax
Very courteous staff. Phone did not work in the room, ordered room service, ordered a well done steak, came med rare. Pillows terrible. Made us feel like doing us a favor when we asked for bath robes. Terrible view of rooftop equipment. Breakfast in the restaurant did not agree with me. High price, close to $600 all in for what felt like a 3 star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IRELAND

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great place to stay. Good location. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie Ontario

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Excellent hotel but a bit of a hike uphill from the harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Worth the climb!!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Proximity to all attractions and eateries.
Cons: The construction is massive at this time and many roads look closed as do the various businesses on them.Take time to have a look as many are open
Location: The Citadel is at the top of the hill in front of the hotel. On the way down to the harbor you can stop at the various eateries.
The Prince Hotel like many things in Halifax, is up on a hill facing the Citadel. Considering all of the delicious food you will be eating in Halifax you don't need to feel bad about that second serving of Cows ice cream when you know you will be climbing the hill to get back to your room. Prince Hotel is quaint without being ostentatious. Hotel is well laid out and functional. Breakfast is conveniently next to the elevators in the lobby. Staff is courteous and efficient. They are helpful and engaging. We left a tip and a note for our housekeeping staff and they answered with a note of their own. I have left tips and notes in many hotels and countries and I can say this is the first time the staff has taken the time to acknowledge it in writing. Much appreciated.The hair dryer in the bathroom was missing when we arrived and just one phone call later it was at our door. Restaurants and the harbour are all within walking distance. The Citadel is up the hill from the hotel and is free this year in honor of our 150th birthday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

great base for Halifax

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: clean, modern, comfortable beds, helpful staff. close to the Citadel and gardens
Cons: can't do anything about the uphill walk from the waterfront
Location: 6-7 blocks down to the waterfront and art museum. must see the Maudie exhibit.
very clean and comfortable hotel near the waterfront. An uphill hike, but near restaurants. Exceptional staff