Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON Canada

Great hotel close to downtown.

Posted May 27, 2017
I stayed at Residence Inn Marriott because it was in walking distance of downtown. I use a walker and that was important for me. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were very good and plentiful. Much to see and do in walking distance. I would suggest this hotel to any of my​ friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Spacious room well located

Posted May 26, 2017
The room was large and well appointed with kitchenette and full size fridge, sofa and seating area. Many restaurants and bars are located nearby, including a couple of fine dining spots. Front desk staff were exceedingly helpful to me as a first time tourist in the city. My only reason for giving a so so assessment of comfort was the disappointing quality of bedding; sheets and pillows were thin and inferior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
It's a great hotel in the center of Halifax and it's tourist destinations. It's surrounded by great places to eat and shop and you can walk to everything. Heck out the rooftop deck too, great views of the Barbour and ocean. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Great hotel for extended stays of a week or more!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Nice big fridge, nice big room, super friendly staff, great continental breakfast, free snacks on Mon, Tue and Wed
Cons: It would be nice if you could switch off all the lights from a single switch just before you leave the room.
Location: Downtown Halifax - lots of good restaurants if you don't feel like cooking at the kitchenette
Loved the kitchenette, comfy bed, and size of the room. Great breakfast. Wife would have liked a pool, but I'm willing to let that go. Nice rooftop patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Excellent hotel and staff

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: Walk along the waterfront, Salty's & Murphy's restaurants on the pier, Harbour Hopper's tours, Peggy's Cove
The Residence Inn by Marriott Halifax is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. They advised us on where to go and what to see in Halifax. Our room was lovely. Very clean, the bed and hide-a-bed were both very comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with anything one needed. The bathroom was also very clean and I like the fact that the vanity is outside of the shower area. The breakfast at this hotel was excellent. Lots of choice with many healthy alternatives too (which I really appreciated). All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay at The Residence Inn - downtown Halifax and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in the downtown area of Halifax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel great staff

Posted May 22, 2017
We stay at Marriott hotels quite often but we've never had an experience like this one! We were joking around at check in about it being my husband's birthday and how he hates being embarrassed. After a short chat about what we were doing in Halifax we went up to our room to get ready and by the time we came back down Mikayla (sorry if my spelling of her name is horrendous) had made us up a map with walking directions to the places we wanted to see!! Not only that but by the time we finished our night we returned to our room where we found a little goodie bag and hand made birthday card to my husband!! It honestly made our trip! The rooms are spacious and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly as well, Halifax was a great time! Thanks again Mikayla!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location, pleasant stay.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Free parking!
Location: Restaurants, pubs, museums, shopping
The room was large, comfortable and very quiet. The breakfast was plentiful and appetizing. Very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to everything downtown

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The size of the rooms and the staff. Breakfast was also good.
Cons: The room needed to be aired out. Quite a musty smell. It was the only thing wrong with it
My husband and I stayed there while visiting our daughter attending university in Halifax. We never needed to use the car since the hotel was in close distance to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I arrived at 8am and they offered me breakfast while they worked to get a room cleaned far earlier than regular check in. All the staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. The location is excellent. I am in the industry and have over 9,000 rooms in my personal portfolio, and there wasn't a single person I dealt with at the hotel that I wouldn't hire again. From the AGM to the Housekeeper, I was truly impressed and have already recommended it to numerous people. They truly exceeded my expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great downtown value

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Large room with lots of amenities. Has everything for a comfortable long term stay. Great location close to everything downtown.