Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Breton

Residence Marriott

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The staff were excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Cons: It would be great if there was a bit more of a selection for breakfast.
Location: This Halifax downtown location was terrific. I was able to walk to my appointment ( Tall Ship DKI tour of Halifax Harbour ). There was plenty to do.
It was a very positive experience staying at this superbly run hotel. My wife & I enjoyed the experience immensely. We will definitely stay at this fine establishment again... and again ... and again....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel. Very noisy outside!

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Hotel location unfortunately is surrounded by late night bars & night club activities. Extreemly noisey up until 4:00 am. Bands playing, music blasting, screaming people. Walls rattled!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great location!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Close to city life; great restaurants, wine and tapa bars, pubs and the buskers on the water front. The hotel has a great gym as well that is open 24/7.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
situated perfectly, can walk to so much; great knowledgeable, helpful and friendly staff, go the extra mile to accomodate requests; excellent breakfast variety, constantly replenished
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Great hotel for a week in Halifax!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, great staff, functioning kitchen.
Cons: Well, a swimming pool would be nice, but ...
Location: Very nice waterfront, great museums, beautiful public gardens, the Citadel, local brews, and great restaurants. Must try the Wooden Monkey! Check YELP
We stayed here for a week for a wonderful vacation in Halifax. It is walking distance to almost everything (just remember Halifax is a harbor city-lots of up and down-hill walking)! For further drives, easy access. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean, staff were great, and we had a functioning kitchen. Considering the marvelous restaurants, this make leftovers fun your own coffee in the morning, and fresh veggies. Cool! The staff will shop for you, but a great store is 5 minutes away. Oh, the roof deck is a great plus. Loved Halifax, loved the Residence Inn. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Pond,NS

convenient and comfortabl

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Great location and very well equipped for staying a few days!9
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Only complaint is that the hotel smelled weird in the first floor halls
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, great location.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Excellent hotel. Be nice if there was a pool and/or a hot tub. Great location. Near everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, quietness
Cons: staff attitude's, could be more friendly, outgoing, could be more helpful.
Location: close to variety of restaurants, walks to waterfront, etc...
Good experience, close to downtown, walking distance to boardwalk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Shirley, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness and quietness of our hotel. Our goal is to always provide exceptional service to every guest, we are disappointed to that this did not happen and we look forward to having the opportunity to service you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay, Ontario

First Timer

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, willingness to serve and the personable hospitality. There are great little extras we didn't utilize, but are a nice touch.
Cons: In the tuck shop: dairy alternative, like almond milk, such a minor thing, but would be convenient.
Location: Downtown location is fantastic. Easy to walk to waterfront, great restaurants/pubs nearby. Was even able to get some almond milk at Pauls Fine Foods.
I planned a surprise trip to Nova Scotia for my Mom and I. I planned to have Halifax as our home base except for one night staying on the Cabot Trail. From our arrival, to giving instructions around the construction, to our welcome basket to giving us advice and again more instructions (we never stopped asking for opinions on restaurants, the surroundings, places they'd suggest etc). I even parked in the wrong spot of the parking garage (didn't notice the # on the parking pass), chose another one and they just changed it rather than asking me to move or even bringing it to our attention. That may have been different if another guest had been assigned to the spot I chose, however, they were cordial, polite, full of humour and very personable. I always make a note of staff names, this is the one time I didn't. I'm chalking it up to being preoccupied making it an easy, comfy trip for my mom... ...in reality, every member of the staff was excellent. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. I read prior to leaving, comments about the repetitiveness of the breakfast. Firstly, it's what is referred to as a continental breakfast, which for anyone who has ever had a continental breakfast knows this IS NOT a continental breakfast. The choices are numerous so there is no reason to have the same thing each day. The kitchen staff is helpful, friendly, always smiling and polite. We will be back to Halifax and this is where we will stay. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
WOW thank you the wonderful review!!! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to make the above comments. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful recent stay at the Residence Inn Halifax. I am sorry we did not have dairy alternatives on hand during this stay, for upcoming stays please contact us directly to take care of these requests. We look forward to seeing you again.