Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great hotel in downtown Halifax

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Proximity to all the attractions, restaurants and bars. Also the fact it was a suite.
Location: Hotel was a block from Argyle St. where many bars, restaurants, Neptune theatre, convention centre and Scotia bank centre are located.
All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that was included was good and offered a nice variety. We chose the hotel for the fact it was a suite hotel meaning we had a sitting area and kitchenette for more space. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom huge; sink was separate from the tub which is convenient. The hotel was in walking distance of all the attractions and restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with kitchenette

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Great location in the heart of halifax. Closr to all amenities. Clean and comfortable hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The hotel staff at the Residence Inn were very helpful and provided excellent service. The rooms are spacious. The hotel is in walking distance to a lot of amenities and attractions downtown Halifax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Showing Age

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Love the convenience of location In the heart of Halifax, near live theatre, loud & lively pubs & restaurants.
Cons: Visibly filthy plate put back for use by next guest which ended up being me ~ unchecked. Mattress saggy, lumpy, old, uncomfortable ~ Tub in need of re-enamelling, Update of facility overdue. Spot check of housekeeping required.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by RIH Manager, Hotel Management
Good day Showing Age, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay. As we pride ourselves on making every stay memorable I apologize that we have fallen short. We will be sharing your feedback with the appropriate team members to ensure that this was an isolated issue that will be corrected moving forward. We look forward to welcoming you should your travels bring you back to Halifax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Catharines, Ontario

A great week in Halifax

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Museums, Art galleries, The Citadel were all worth visiting. The waterfront is particularly nice. Car rental was close by and allowed us to explore.
We had a great time in Halifax. We enjoyed the museums, restaurants, pubs, and walking the city. We rented a car for the weekend and visited Annapolis Valley, Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, and of course Peggy's Cove. Hotel was great. Handy for down town walks etc. We were able to make some nice evening meals. Breakfasts were very good and three evenings a week they had some very enjoyable specials. The staff were excellent. The room was perfect for us and we had a wonderful stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Very nice location, the hotel is close to everything. Very helpful staff. Reasonable rates
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, United States of America

Great Hotel. Noisy Neighborhood.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Wonderful facility with an outstanding staff. However, if you are the type of person that can't sleep over a noisy street, be prepared to loose sleep on Friday & Saturday nights. The staff did everything possible including changing our room. I simply could not get to sleep before 4am due to the street noise in this busy bar district.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grangemouth

Ok hotel middle of Halifax

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Nice breakfast included, rooms clean and nice size and at only 5 floors not to high, under ground parking quite tight and at $20 a night not great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, MA

Central Location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Paying for parking, although common for Halifax, was a drag
Location: Restaurants, museums, shops
We spent a week in Nova Scotia using this hotel as our base. We were extremely comfortable while in the hotel. We traveled well over 3500 kilometers while there and found this hotel not only comfortable but centrally located in the city to attractions and restaurants we visited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Good Location close to everything.
Location: All the tourist spots and an Atlantic Superstore a few minutes away.
Great Check-In. Rooms are great. Tons of good eateries and within walking distance of the sites.