Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet inn with great location

Posted Mar 29, 2017
The only thing I didn't like about my room was that the front windows were right on the ground floor along side the outside sidewalks. You could hear people alot and made me wonder about my security of my belongings. Other than that everything was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Marginal--buildings under repair Bathroom old-- very little light Old inn style--too rustic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Boutique hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Had a lovely three nite stay. The Globe and The Chronicle are available each morning along with a very good included breakfast (self serve). Quiet, lots of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Cozy, comfortable hotel, perfect location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, hospitable staff, welcoming fire and coffee.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We enjoyed the quaintness of the hotel, the proximity to local pubs and restaurants, and its short walk to the market, Pier 21 and entertainment.
We spent two nights at The Halliburton for the long weekend, just after the crazy snow storm that hit Halifax. The staff were helpful and welcoming, and the room was warm and clean. Each day we were greeted by a warm fire burning and fresh coffee and tea. Beyond the main staircase you can find interesting framed articles of the history of the house. While we did not dine at Stories on our short stay, it has been recommended by reliable Haligonians (our next visit we will be sure to dine there).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, NB

Best aspects are location and heritage feel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Extra chair in the room. More attention to heritage aspect of the property
Location: Lots of restaurants, heritage walking and entertainment nearby.
The hotel is one of Halifax's long-standing heritage properties. While the room retains the heritage feel the bathroom was quite basic. Bed was comfortable but the room could have use one more sitting chair for a two person stay. Location is excellent in the heart of the city with many eating options close by, market etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

turns out to be a townhouse

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Cons: tell the truth about the location and style oof the hotel including the number of rooms and age of the place
wxpecting a 4 star hotel not a 150 year old townhouse om a back road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Central location in historic building

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel has a whole lot of charm and character. Centrally located and has a high-end small restaurant Stories inside. We were there in early February and it was very cozy in the cold, snowy weather. No elevator and definitely some stairs. Comfortable but not ultra-modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful Hotel, great location!

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Such a great stay at the Halliburton! Perfect location! Close to restaurants, local shopping and even a supermarket! The hotel is so nice! Very cozy and well maintained! One of the comfiest beds I've stayed in! Staff were very helpful! Only con is there is no elevator, so this could be a challenge for anyone who finds stairs difficult. But I knew this before booking so it was a ok!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant staff

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was a bit pokey and needed dusty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Enjoyable

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Friendly and attentive staff, lovely hotel, good breakfasts and dinners, great proximity to attractions