Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise by the window coming from the A/C and heat

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Cons: Breakfast was the same every single day. I've stayed for 6 days and it was just the same.
Location: Location was fine.
My room was noise and they were going to change my room fro another one that had a moldy smell, and I wasn't able to change rooms because I am sensitive to odors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Maryland, NB

Downtown boutique hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to a downtown meeting.
Cons: Add a writing desk to room.
Location: Downtown location, several houses linked together to make up this hotel.
Just checked in. A few restaurants nearby for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good historic hotel in downtown Halifax

Posted Nov 15, 2017
This was a good hotel. I didn't realize it was a historic site. I personally prefer more modern hotels, but my wife and I did enjoy our stay. It is a great location and close to everything in the downtown Halifax area. We had a car and so getting around was very easy for us (although walking would have been doable as well). The parking for the car wasn't the best, but it was free with the room so can't complain. Overall we enjoyed our stay, however I would prefer a more modern hotel next time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in staying in Halifax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, NB

Great location, comfy bed

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Charming heritage building in a nice, quiet location. Walking distance to all downtown attractions. Nice room with a very comfy bed. Only thing I would add is a mini fridge. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cap-Pele

Nice B&B in great location.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The hotel was located in a good area. The continental breakfast was very satisfactory. Our experience there was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moncton N B

Nice hotel.Close to restaurants,theater, shopping.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Great place.The only complaint is that we were on the third floor and there are no elevators.I have bad arthritis in both knees which makes going up and down very difficult and painful.They should advise their guests of this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great historical property.

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Dining experience was magnificent . Presentation of the meals were extrodinary. Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2017
It was a clean hotel in a good location. Everything you would want to see is a reasonable walk nearby. The hotel staff was helpful. I liked the continental breakfast. Good spread.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Cozy and Comfortable

Posted Nov 8, 2017
This is a wonderful inn located a couple minutes walk from the boardwalk and only 15 minutes from the convention center. Very kind staff and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax,NS

Overnight retreat

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We live in Halifax and we like to spend the night after an evening on the town. We look at accommodations with a focus on location, price and amenities. Rather than book into a chain hotel we choice the Haliburton. Staying there is like taking a step back in time with the normal convienances of a larger hotel. The street entrance is like going into a family home. The rooms were well appointed, the bedding was comforting, our room looked over the centre patio. Since it was November we didn't spend anytime there but there were birds still singing when I opened the back door. Would be beautiful in the summer. The continental breakfast was very good, the front desk staff were friendly. We would stay there again.