Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London ON Canada

Boutique hotel that felt like home

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: I appreciated the location and the boutique feel of the space.
Cons: Add variety to the breakfast options
Location: Lots to do on Spring Garden/ Barrington; easily accessible for fantastic pizza and Thai food as well as pubs; waterfront steps away
I stayed six nights at the Halliburton in October while in Halifax for training. The hotel feels like a home; I slept better here --under thick warm duvets that enveloped me after a long day of work -- than I have in any other recent hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and personable, and they were able to make tailored suggestions for shopping, dining, and transit. I used public transit (bus) to get to and from my training location, and it was easily accessible from the hotel. Breakfast was always ready on time, with fresh hot coffee and tea (important in Halifax's weather), and a healthy array of options (which did not vary from day to day, so after 6 days I craved some variety). As a boutigue hotel in a heritage building, there are some creaks and croans that you'll hear on stairs etc -- this is what made it sound like home to me -- and the building is not soundproof. You'll hear foghorns from the harbor unless you pack ear plugs (or like foghorns)!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location near train terminus

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Nice "boutique" facility within easy walk of Halifax train station, city center and pier. Staff was accommodating, attentive. Room was nicely appointed, secure. The facility occupies three adjacent historic buildings. Light breakfast (fruit, cereals, bagels, juice, tea, coffee) option included. Restaurants nearby. A solid 4.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: We wished that we were staying for longer than one night.
Cons: Parking is a little limited so you might want to check in early if you have rented a car.
Location: This is a well located hotel, very near the wharf and within easy walking distance of Pier 21.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Talking Rock, GA

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Close to the waterfront
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Close to everything in downtown Halifax.
Beautiful Place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gut gelegenes Hotel mit angenehmer Atmosphäre

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Cons: Minibar im Zimmer und bessere Intenetverbindung
Location: Mitten in Downtown, alle Sehenswürdigkeiten sind bequem zu Fuß errreichbar
Da Hotel liegt sehr zentral, so dass alle Sehenswürdigkeiten zu Fuß erreichbar sind. Das Zimmer war ansprechend eingerichtet, allerdings haben wir neben einer Minibar vor allem eine stabile Internetverbinding vermisst. Das Frühstück ist nicht groß, aber die Auswahl ist ausreichend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon SK

Great staff, great location

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, location.
Cons: There is no elevator.
Location: Downtown location. Walking distance to waterfront and major attractions. Many restaurants nearby.
Comfortable room, close to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Super helpful and friendly staff. Parking at no extra cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Would stay again!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: I just really liked vibe.
Location: Great location! Food and drink very walkable! Barrington street.
I really liked this place. It was cozy and quiet and close to everything. Staff were friendly. Parking was tight but if you're used to being in the big city, it's no big deal. I walked to Stillwell had some great beer, and then I had some pizza right on the corner by the hotel. Everything was great! I do wish I had a chance to hangout in the courtyard, it looked nice. I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

I love this hotel, it is so unique and cozy.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: It is so unique and quaint
Cons: An elevator, but I know that is impossible
Location: Perfect, near the harbor, the Farmer's market, the train station, great restaurants and the Maritime bus station.
We stayed at the Halliburton 2 nights. It is a perfect location and so much more interesting than the downtown big hotels. I would definitely stay there again. My only issue was no elevator, but the desk clerk took out luggage to our second floor room and when we checked out, took it to the lobby. The restaurants in the hotel and near the hotel are amazing and it is close to the Farmer's market, the harbour and the Maritime bus and train station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tsawwassen

Great location.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The location. Breakfasts were pleasant in the hotel's restaurant.
Cons: We didn't realize when booking that there are 3 buildings side by side and that you may not be in the actual "Haliburton".
Location: Close to the waterfront, an easy walk to the citadel.
This is an easy walk to the waterfront and everything in downtown. The street seems quiet but can be a little noisy on weekend evenings. Some heritage charm and staff was pleasant and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Enjoyed our time at the hotel. Liked their breakfast.