Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint John, NB

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location! Close to dining, shopping and nightlife. Reminiscent of the old CP hotels of yesteryear.
Stayed here for a weekend in November. Walking distance to nice restaurants, bars and shopping. Ate out both nights and walked to both restaurants. Walking distance to breakfast places; brunch was available at the hotel. Used the valet parking. Room temperature was easily controlled but the walls were a little on the thin side- could hear people clearly talking in the hallway as if they were actually in your room. Great ambience to the place. Room rate was a little on the pricey side, but would otherwise recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Nice stay. Staff were excellent and accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London ON

Excellent location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Room was great- laminate floors so no carpet! Wish all hotels thought of this. Beautiful lobby. Hotel staff great as always.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Nice hotel in a perfect spot

Posted Nov 12, 2016
I love the lord nelson. I had an amazing stay! The staff from maids to bell boys were amazing very professionnal and efficient. The hotel has a great style and is kept very clean. The beds are god sent and the rooms are always fresh to top it off they do not have carpet in the rooms I think that awesome. It is well located everything is close banks,shops,restaurants its awesome! There is a 24h shoppers drugmart, mcdonalds, tim hortons and subway right around the corner. And trust me that mcdonalds and tim hortons will be handy in the morning because the breakfast at the lord is horrible! Only downfall fall of this play other wise it would be the best place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, On.

Hotel rooms need a reno

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Great location-all amenities nearby.
Great hotel but it needs some updating such as a fan in the bathroom, better lighting and carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good food, staff friendly, room comfortable

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were helpful and food was good. The rooms were very nice. The pet friendly policy is very good.
Cons: Everything was extra cost (breakfast, parking, etc.) Renovations are in progress. Difficult to find parking garage.
Location: Site seeing, very good seafood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario Canada

Nice small Hotel In Halifax

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Cons: firmer materesses
Location: Public Gardens, Museums, Citadel, Common Park area all within walking distance.
Great location across from the Public Gardens with restaurants and services close by. Not far from the waterfront and other attractions. Good staff who aim to please. Basic room can be on the small side but comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant small room, lovely lobby

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Craft beer at the rastaurant/pub. Nice character in lobby. Pleasant doormen and outdoor seating.
Cons: Airconditioner was loud, shower tiles could use a good scrubbing.
Location: Lovely park across the street, handy to several restaurants and walkable distance to waterfront.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Dated and tired

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Great central location
Room was ok but too small. Bed wasn't attached to head board so hard to sit up in bed and watch tv, write. Under no circumstances should you eat in dining room. I order fish and chips for 16. It was awful, tasteless, what I wud expect from a fast food restaurant. The toilet kept running and I had to call the front desk 5 times. Staff was very prompt and courteous but the room was really lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and classy

Posted Oct 10, 2016
I would have liked to see or read more about the hotel as i believe that there is rich history there. But there was nothing in the room and nothing in the elevators or around the lobby
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Kathryn , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I agree that we could have more information regarding our history, this will be passed along to our management team for review. We hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Kathryn