Ratings based on 1,241 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlottetown PE

Great

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Very clean , nice people and made sure my stay was the best it could be . Location was perfect . Very close to everything downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The hotel offers a great service to pickup and deliver to the airport so we did not need a car as it is very central to everything in Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax

nice hotel close to hospitals

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Nice hotel & kind staff. Close to hospitals & amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to shopping, good restaurants, e

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Liked the larger room on 9th floor
Cons: Monitoring partiers
Location: Easy walk to waterfront, nice restaurants, etc
2nd night had partiers next to us and hotel staff shut them down for a bit but they partied strong til 4:30 am...hotel moved us to a quieter floor the next day - hard wood floors really carry the noise
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Feb 17, 2017
My room was on Spring Garden Ave. side. There was a lot of traffic noise, and the windows are old and don't have sound proofing, like modern double and triple glazed windows. The room doors have no cushion on the door jamb when they are closing, so there is the noise from slamming doors all the way along the hall. Also, there was the noise of nearby construction that started early and went on all day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolfville, NS, Canada

Great hotel in downtown

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Great location, comfortable, hardwood-floored room
Location: Tons of restaurants/shops just around the corner on Spring Garden
I needed a hotel to stay in close to downtown while catching up with a few friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel that was centrally located

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect.
Location: Parklane Mall is attached to this hotel, and lots of shops. Close to Spring Garden Road and Dresden Row which are main streets in this city.
Hotel was very nice and clean. Hotel staff was excellent other than the manager who was on duty who was rude to myself and her staff. However, the layout of the hotel was very confusing. Was also told that I could park in the parking garage after I checked out and would be able to use my room key, but when the time came to leave I had to pay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Close to hospital
Cons: Offer Internet at discount prices for hospital guests. That was how the family was keeping in touch and I had to wait till the next morning for update
First hotel I stayed in that you had to pay for Internet. I was on the complementary connection for 15 min and kept getting a message that there was no internet connection. I inquired at the front desk and sad that they would see what they could do and I didn't get any call back. Parking was very expensive also. I was there because a family member was in the hospital and I booked via Expedia and they then told me that there was special pricing for hospitals which would have saved me $2. The remote fr the TV stopped working and we went to sleep with the TV on and couldn't turn it off or turn down e volume.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Hotel in a nice location.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Arrive late at hotel and received good service. Had a problem with my card byt the hotel still help to accommodate my needs until it was sorted the next morning. The stay overall was comfortable and convenient. I would recommend others to stay there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Hair in both beds and in shower ... TV not working

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel windows open for fresh air. Downtown location with amenities close by.
Cons: Cleanliness and shabby, scratched furniture needs replacing. Floors are very cold.
Location: Good location: restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing opportunities close by.
The TV reception was not working in the first room we were given. This took a few hours to be dealt with. We were eventually moved to another room which was larger. Unfortunately there was human hair (not ours) stuck to sheets in BOTH beds in the new suite. Also there was hair and an eye-lash in the tub ... really disgusting! The staff was prompt to act when informed. The bedding was changed completely but in the end I had to rince out the tub myself. We were not refunded any money. I did call the front desk to ask for a refund for the underground fee (which was very pricey and not included in the room charge) but the manager did not get back to me prior to check-out time so that expense remained on our bill. We were given a voucher for an upgrade on our next booking (fat chance!!!) at check-out time. It was 10 pm by the time the bedding was changed and we were finally able to put our feet up. We did not find our stay at this hotel to be relaxing in any way and would not recommend the Nelson to fellow travellers..