Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautifully appointed hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Extremely helpful front desk staff. We took an offered very reasonable upgrade offer to a parlor room with huge seating area, TV, couch, chairs, and bar sink with coffee maker. The king size bed was very comfortable with beautiful linens. The bathroom likewise very large, clean, with marble counter tops, beautifully tiled floors and walls. All that a traveler needs for a wonderfully relaxing stay. The buffet breakfast, included in the upgrade, was extensive and delicious, and the staff friendly and accommodating. A short walk to the Citadel and the waterfront.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel in Halifax

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: It is a classic hotel built many decades ago. When you walk in the lobby you sense the grandeur of days gone by. The staff are an added bonus.
Cons: I cannot think of anything I would want improved.
Location: The gardens are across the street. The waterfront is downhill at the bottom of Sackville Street.
The Lord Nelson Hotel is located across the street from the well known Halifax Public Garden. It is several blocks uphill from the waterfront which can be viewed as a positive or a negative. We chose the positive. It is a beautiful neighborhood with the park at your doorstep. There are restaurants surrounding it on adjacent streets. For those who don't enjoy walking up hill, it is 15 minutes uphill from the waterfront. We enjoyed the walk and the exercise; others may not.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Franklin, TN

Great location!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, service
Cons: It would have been considerate to warn me about the construction.
Location: superb location. Walk across the street to the Public Gardens, a few blocks to the waterfront, a plethora of restaurants of all price ranges.
The Lord Nelson is in walking distance to all the must-see points, right across the street from the wonderful Public Gardens, plus great restaurants and shops. Couldn't be better accommodated. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff was most helpful and friendly - my original booking was a room facing another wall. I voiced my preference for a less claustrophobic view and they immediately changed me to a Park view room. Unfortunately - and this is the only negative I'd like to express - they neglected to warn me that there was all-night construction going on at that corner of the street. After a sleepless night, I requested to be relocated another time. Again, they complied very speedily and courteously and I spent the second night most comfortably, without claustrophobic views or sleep-inhibiting noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Location: We went on long weekend. 5 minute walk to waterfront where it was quite busy and bustling.
Good experience. 5 minute walk to the water and all he activities. Staff very polite and efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Pleasant But let my orthopedic pillow I had to call 7 times to request they mail it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Lovely location across from gardens.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The location, the staff.
The porch was great for sitting, reading. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Great Location, Welcoming Staff, Comfortable Beds

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location and the history of the hotel.
Cons: N/A
Location: Great restaurants with in walking distance to the waterfront.
We stayed at the Lord Nelson for 2 nights. The location of this hotel is great for exploring downtown Halifax on foot. You are close to many great shops and restaurants. The history of the hotel is wonderful. It is always a comfortable stay at the Lord Nelson. We can't wait until our next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Great stay. Wonderful location and friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta, NY

Nice old fashioned hotel.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Location: I was directed to le bistro by Liz be hotel staff several years ago. This restaurant is a true treasure hidden just one block from the hotel.
I have stayed at this hotel about six times, always during the Tattoo. The staff are helpful and pleasant. I initially chose this hotel because they cheerfully took my police service dog with whom I always travel. The hotel has a nice old fashion ambience to it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Very good location. Room outdated.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Very good location.
Cons: Rooms need renovation. The lobby is really not impressive.
Location: public garden, nightclubs, restaurants
Location: Very Good. Parking: Don't except parking for free. The regular parking near the hotel charges $30 overnight; you get $2 discount if you are a guest at the hotel. And their valet is $40 per night. Staff: Nothing exceptional. Check-out: their check out time is 12pm (not as mentioned on their website to be 11am). They charge $15 per hour of you leave at 1pm. Rooms: Very outdated. It's a 3-star hotel.