Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Hair in both beds and in shower ... TV not working

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Hotel windows open for fresh air. Downtown location with amenities close by.
Cons: Cleanliness and shabby, scratched furniture needs replacing. Floors are very cold.
Location: Good location: restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing opportunities close by.
The TV reception was not working in the first room we were given. This took a few hours to be dealt with. We were eventually moved to another room which was larger. Unfortunately there was human hair (not ours) stuck to sheets in BOTH beds in the new suite. Also there was hair and an eye-lash in the tub ... really disgusting! The staff was prompt to act when informed. The bedding was changed completely but in the end I had to rince out the tub myself. We were not refunded any money. I did call the front desk to ask for a refund for the underground fee (which was very pricey and not included in the room charge) but the manager did not get back to me prior to check-out time so that expense remained on our bill. We were given a voucher for an upgrade on our next booking (fat chance!!!) at check-out time. It was 10 pm by the time the bedding was changed and we were finally able to put our feet up. We did not find our stay at this hotel to be relaxing in any way and would not recommend the Nelson to fellow travellers..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful historic.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Location: Located right downtown so you are close to everything.
Loved all the polished brass features, and beveled glass windows. You could feel the history the minute you walked in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not nice

Posted Dec 7, 2016
The hotel was charging me every night for my parking and didn't offer me a pass for free
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia

Great hotel with historical characteristics.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful.
Cons: Parking was very expensive at $28 per day.
Location: The Lord Nelson is right in the downtown area, easily accessible by walking to most of the downtown attractions.
The Lord Nelson Hotel possessed a wonderful character, with historical characteristics tastefully blended with the new. The room was excellent. It had laminate floors, a larger flat screen TV, nice beds and a nice bath. Everything was very clean. All of the staff was awesome: front desk, housekeeping, lobby greeter, and food servers. All of the staff was so professional and friendly. They couldn't do enough to help make our stay a good one. The onsite pub/restaurant had great food and a nice comfy atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.B.

Very central.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Everything was so nice and clean
Cons: The parking fee was too high. That ,in itself,would make me think twice before staying here again !
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance......
We have stayed here before and have always been pleased. It is truly a lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint John, NB

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location! Close to dining, shopping and nightlife. Reminiscent of the old CP hotels of yesteryear.
Stayed here for a weekend in November. Walking distance to nice restaurants, bars and shopping. Ate out both nights and walked to both restaurants. Walking distance to breakfast places; brunch was available at the hotel. Used the valet parking. Room temperature was easily controlled but the walls were a little on the thin side- could hear people clearly talking in the hallway as if they were actually in your room. Great ambience to the place. Room rate was a little on the pricey side, but would otherwise recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Nice stay. Staff were excellent and accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London ON

Excellent location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Room was great- laminate floors so no carpet! Wish all hotels thought of this. Beautiful lobby. Hotel staff great as always.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Nice hotel in a perfect spot

Posted Nov 12, 2016
I love the lord nelson. I had an amazing stay! The staff from maids to bell boys were amazing very professionnal and efficient. The hotel has a great style and is kept very clean. The beds are god sent and the rooms are always fresh to top it off they do not have carpet in the rooms I think that awesome. It is well located everything is close banks,shops,restaurants its awesome! There is a 24h shoppers drugmart, mcdonalds, tim hortons and subway right around the corner. And trust me that mcdonalds and tim hortons will be handy in the morning because the breakfast at the lord is horrible! Only downfall fall of this play other wise it would be the best place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, On.

Hotel rooms need a reno

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Great location-all amenities nearby.
Great hotel but it needs some updating such as a fan in the bathroom, better lighting and carpet.