Ratings based on 1,287 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fine

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: charm
Location: my father molasses
The hotel lobby is beautiful, feels like you are walking back in history! Staff are welcoming, but not overly friendly. Rooms are comfortable and very clean, recently renovated. I only had two concerns, I think the overnight parking charge is excessive especially since the rooms are not cheap. Also, one night my daughter joined me in the lobby bar for a drink and she lost her phone somewhere that evening. The next day we retraced our steps and asked the front desk and the bar and not only did we get quickly dismissed ("no nothing here"), no one even offered to help us look. We felt no one actually cared about us and just wanted us gone. So although the hotel is charming and in a truly great location I'd say the staff could be much more helpful and friendly. Was this review helpful to you? For review titled Nice historic hotel in a central location: Yes, this review was helpful: Helpful: 0 For review titled Nice historic hotel in a central location: No, this review was not helpful. No Flag this review as inappropriate Beautifully renovated older hotel, great location. 5 out of 5 Review recommended for Everyone by Fiona Beautifully renovated older hotel, great location. Posted 11 May 2017 Location: Visit the Citadel, the fantastic new Central LIbrary, trendy north end and the Historic Properties and wonderful market. Great restaurant - Edna's. Elegant lobby, clean modern room with comfy beds and all amenities. Helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is in a great location in walk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Osoyoos,B.C.

Well located hotel for sight seeing in Halifax

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The location,staff and food
Cons: Nothing needed
Location: Near the waterfront and the maritime museum and warehouse restaurant.
The food and staff at the hotel were great and the room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Close to restaurants, nice park right across from hotel. Very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Great staff and location

Posted May 15, 2017
Nice old restored hotel. Need new bedding, excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel in a central location

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Location Historic feel
Cons: Parking charges Hotel staff could be friendlier
Location: Near downtown, the Citadel, the waterfront, museums, lots of bars and restaurants...
The hotel lobby is beautiful, feels like you are walking back in history! Staff are welcoming, but not overly friendly. Rooms are comfortable and very clean, recently renovated. I only had two concerns, I think the overnight parking charge is excessive especially since the rooms are not cheap. Also, one night my daughter joined me in the lobby bar for a drink and she lost her phone somewhere that evening. The next day we retraced our steps and asked the front desk and the bar and not only did we get quickly dismissed ("no nothing here"), no one even offered to help us look. We felt no one actually cared about us and just wanted us gone. So although the hotel is charming and in a truly great location I'd say the staff could be much more helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully renovated older hotel, great location.

Posted May 11, 2017
Location: Visit the Citadel, the fantastic new Central LIbrary, trendy north end and the Historic Properties and wonderful market. Great restaurant - Edna's.
Elegant lobby, clean modern room with comfy beds and all amenities. Helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is in a great location in walking distance to the Citadel, across from beautiful gardens and close to the university. Fifteen minute walk to all the sites of downtown and restaurants and pubs.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona, Thank you, for taking the time to complete this online survey. We appreciate your kind comments and will share them with our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon, at the Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites. Sincerely, Patricia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The "Arms" restaurant, hotel location, history, rooms comfort and awesome staff.
Location: My dining recommendations would be (1) a Lobster Roll at "The Victory Arms" one night and (2) dinner at La Frasca another. Don't miss either!!!
Love staying here, and with their recent remodel, there's even more reasons to keep coming back. Seriously, I think I have stayed here a dozen times over the last three years, and will always make it my number one choice in Halifax. My only regret is that they're loyalty program is no longer in play. I can't recommend this hotel enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you, for taking the time to complete this online survey. We appreciate your very kind comments and accolades. We love hearing such positive feedback from our loyal guests. We look forward to seeing you again, soon at the Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites. Sincerely, Patricia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique boutique hotel in a great location in a gre

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: location, decor, convenience, on-site dining, convenient parking
Cons: the room service meal was not good as the greens in the salad were almost compost.
Location: Public Gardens across the street; Park Lane is great for shopping; the new library is a quick walk away; lots of shops and restaurants nearby
My first choice when staying in Halifax - close to the hospital and university where my work is conducted; very convenient location to walk to almost anywhere in town. Great fitness facilities, easy parking, on-site dining, comfortable rooms, professional and courteous staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Dear Amonymous, Thank you, for taking the time to complete this online survey. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again, soon. Sincerely, Patricia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great hotel, very nice staff and helpful staff. Not super soundproof, but very nicely fixed up and well maintained. Great location close to the public gardens and cool spots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you, for taking the time to complete this online survey. We appreciate your very kind comments and look forward to seeing you again, soon. Sincerely, Patricia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, Ontario

Beautiful and affordable hotel.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Nice room and great food at the hotel restaurant. The staff were all so friendly and super helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Patricia, Hotel Management
Dear Jan, Thank you, for taking the time to complete this online survey. We appreciate your very kind comments and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again, at the Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites. Sincerely, Patricia