Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice Hotel, good location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location. Room size. Room cleanliness.
Cons: Hire a concierge who knows what he/she is doing. Improve pest control in the restaurant.
Location: Near the waterfront, Maritime Museum, good restaurants.
The Lord Nelson is conveniently located within walking distance of the restaurants and activities at the waterfront. Our room was very nice - spacious and clean. The stay was very good. There were two negatives, however: 1. Since this was our first time in Halifax, we wanted to get some info on what to do. We found the concierge to ask for advice. He had only been in Halifax for 3 weeks and did not know the city and could not recommend anything. Very disappointing. 2. When we arrive, we had a late lunch in the restaurant. We had company - a mouse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Easy walking to museums, restaurants and harbor.
Cons: Decor is a bit tired, but accommodations are clean and comfortable.
Historic building across from the Public Gardens. Spacious and comfortable room could use a second comfortable chair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern. ontario

Old vintage hotel downton

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious, comfortable with friendly staff
Cons: The parking is very expensive. The rate could be improved upon.
Location: See above
The Lord Nelson is a vintage style hotel with modern amenities. From the clean, comfortable, spacious bedroom to the excellent food at the restaurant / pub, it was a good experience. The parking is expensive. However, you can park your vehicle securely and walk anywhere you may need to go downtown. Restaurants, sight seeing, shopping, business is all close at hand to this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

The. Lord Nelson Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The staff, the service that was supplied, I found exceptional. Especially Phyllis from housekeeping also concierge Brian and Jamie
Cons: Some of the tours could be longer, don't get much time to look around properly
Location: Beautiful scenery. Went to Mahone and Lunenburg, Historical site. Penny's Cove. Whale watching....most of these tours can be pre booked on expedia
We entered the lobby and it looked how we had imagined from pictures, but more. We booked in and while we were waiting for our room to be finished, we looked at tours with Concierge Brian, who told us the best ones. So we booked. Room was ready, so we freshener up and came down to The Arms for some food. Went on tours from Murphy's Harbour Hopper, half on land, half on sea tour. Lunenburg and Mahone, 2 fishery towns with great history and colourful buildings. Peggys Cove a lighthouse that is named after a lady called Peggy, can't remember exactly. Whale watching tour where we were lucky enough to see dolphins and hand feeding herring gull by hand. Took a walk from Pier 21 all the way to The Casino, checking all the sites along the way. Was going to do the hop on/ off bus, but due to no cruise ships being in, it was cancelled. So instead went to The Citadel Fort, a British working fort, where uniform is a Kilt, from The Celtic ancestry. Very well worth the visit, we stayed 3 - 4 hours looking around. Museums we saw were Maritime Museum of the Atlantic. Museum of Immigration and Fisheries Museum in Lunenburg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
New front desk staff couldn't answer questions. $28 a night for underground parking that was not in the hotel, not close to elevators, very inconvenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fint och centralt

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Skön atmosfär. Bra läge.
Mysigt. Bra läge för promenader i stan. Hjälpsam personal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

A Classic in the Heart of Halifax

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: the newly renovated room, the central location, the courteous and professional staff.
Cons: cocktail and meal service to the front verandah.
Location: close to Spring Garden Rd, Gardens and Citadel, a short walk to the restaurants & pubs of Argyle St, & close to Historic Properties & waterfront
I stay at the Lord Nelson every year, it's a great hotel with great history, reasonably priced, right across from the Gardens and near the Citadel, which we could see from our room. We had one of the renovated rooms this year and they are lovely! Staff is always friendly, helpful and very professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nice

Hôtel très bien placé pour visiter Halifax

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cet hôtel assez luxueux se trouve très bien placé pour visiter Halifax et son port à pied. Le personnel est efficace et accueillant. La solution du parking juste à côté est parfaite.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Juliet, TN

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Location: Mid-town location, close to the wharf.
Everything about The Lord Nelson Hotel exceeded expectations. The rooms were lovely, the staff cordial, and convenient location. We will stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Large welcoming veranda with plenty of comfortable seating. The lobby is large and nicely designed with easy access to the elevator or stairs, and with a nice restaurant on one end offering delicious breakfast off menu or buffet. Our room and bathroom were both large enough and the king size bed was extremely comfortable and nicely made up. The location in this most walkable city of Halifax was perfect. We were able to park our vehicle at the hotel for a reasonable fee and easily walk to all of our destinations- Public Garden, shopping, waterfront and restaurants. Hotel staff are all very nice!