Ratings based on 1,389 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The doors were very loud when closing which woke us up during the night, and the parking intercom didn't work properly. Other than those things the staff was lovely, the room very clean and it was an overall enjoyable experience in a beautiful old building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

1 Night Stay in September

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location & staff primarily.
Cons: The shower was a bit old.
Location: The Public Gardens look great this year!
Overall very enjoyable - location and staff are both terrific. The room was small (a petite suite, I believe) and the bathroom was a bit dated, particularly the shower. However, it was very comfortable and had everything I look for in a hotel. Loved the Aveda products in the bathroom! I will definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

way overpriced and a one star hotel at best

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: nothing to speak of
Cons: there should be a caution on the "deluxe one bedroom suite" that points outthere is only one window, no view and very dark.
we reserved a "deluxe one bedroom suite" -- what a misnomer. there was only one window (in the bedroom) and the living room was a dark enclosed space with no natural light. the one window we had looked into a building and down to what looked like air conditioning equipment. hence the hotel's description should caution the traveller that there is no view and the room is very dark with only one window at the end. the door to the room stuck so bad it could only be closed with a huge slam. The bathroom door also stuck. The furniture was laminate as was the floor. Nowhere near a "deluxe one bedroom suite" in my view. the one time we had the breakfast buffet it closed promptly at 10 (as advertised) despite an influx of guests at that time who were told they could only order from the menu absolutely terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great place to stay in Halifax

Posted Sep 11, 2017
I kind of downgraded the cleanliness category. The room was very clean when we arrived: no problem there. I was just really surprised that the debris from the coffee station was not cleaned up after our first night. This was surprising, given the attention to detail shown by hotel staff in every other interaction. Otherwise, the hotel is elegant and the location is perfect: a 15 minute walk to the harbor (maybe a little longer walking up the hills on the way back) and directly across the street from the captivatingly beautiful Public Garden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston

Disappointing, probably won't go back.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Hard to fault the hotel for the poor behavior of other guests, however, they should not have botched the wake-up call. Quieter AC.
Location: Close to Dalhousie University campus. Across the street from city gardens and just down the road from Citadel. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby.
In Halifax for one night. Room was reasonably clean, bed comfortable. I had stayed at this hotel a few times over the past 5 years and thought it was reasonably good with an excellent location near Dalhousie campus. This visit my room was very noisy. AC unit extremely loud. Guest next door was loud and was smoking pot (smell wafted into my room). People talking loudly outside my room at 12:30am woke me up. I arranged a wake up call that never came - not a great way to start the day considering I had a lousy nights sleep. Valet parking VERY expensive relative to my recent experience in larger, busier, cities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canadian Rockies

Central hotel close to everything you want.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The one bedroom suites are huge and lovely.
Cons: the elevators the parking garage is inconvenient if you have a lot of luggage so a suggestion to patrons to drop their luggage in their rooms first.
Location: Beautiful location. Park across the street. Shopping and restaurants within a one minute walk from the hotel. Waterfront abt 10min walk away.
I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last year, once in an adorable little room facing the gardens (I loved that room), then a not so lovely space facing a wall of a building, and the third and most recent time I stayed in a lovely one bedroom suite which faced Spring Garden Road. I would highly recommend that space if you are 2 or more people as it was quite lovely. The downside: remember to drop off any luggage to your room when you check in and park your car afterwards because you do not want to be carrying your bags up or down the stairs to the parking garage. Downside number 2: the front lobby is in need of a face lift. It is rather dreary and does not reflect how beautiful the rooms are. Downside number 3: The middle elevator was opening and I started to step on to it when it suddenly changed directions and slammed me in to the door frame at such an incredible speed that my arms and body were left bruised and a week later I am dealing with aches in my arms and on the side of my body as well as a slight neck/shoulder injury from being crushed between the elevator door and the door frame when the elevator suddenly malfunctioned and came slamming in to me before opening all the way as one would have expected . I am worried that now I will have to find a physiotherapist to work out the aches in my neck and shoulder due to the incident. The hotel room (one bedroom suite) was simply beautiful though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Great location and our room overlooked the gardens. The room was very spacious with comfortable bedding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

careless to guest

Posted Sep 1, 2017
i booked a luxury suits room, but they gave me a smallest room, when i came back to front dest, it took me one hour to fix this mistake that they made. i had to reschdule my appointment with my business partner. it is an old hotel without management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Cash grab

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Hotel was lovely and well situated. But we arrived 2 hrs early as my son had a migraine. They charged us $30 for early check in. I have travelled a lot for business /personal reasons and have never been charged for early check in before. If a hotel can accommodate an early arrival, they have graciously done so when needed. This was just a cash grab and turned me off from using anymore of theiri services than absolutely necessary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Lovely central hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This hotel was amazing. The staff was great and the hotel was close to so much in the city. Great restaurants and things to do within walking distance.