Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aberdeenshire

Dump..!!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
How they can call this a hotel. What a tip. Bed really uncomfortable, very old, cloth seat in room ripped and stinking, light shades full of dead flies floors need good sweep and mop, toilet door no handle just wood screw sticking out, broken toilet seat , shower and toilet filthy. Room not cleaned daily. No tea facilities replenished each day. Complained to manager he was so far up his own backside he thought it was funny. Stay well clear. Dump
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The staff were v.good but rooms were basic me and my husband had to change rooms as our first room was damaged by a previous guest we stayed two nights and we will not be staying again
4 out of 5
by Sunjay

good value and very close to the town centre.

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good welcome service, I was allowed to drop my bag off before checking time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water - staff not bothered

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Ebookers
good price and location but at a minimum rooms must have hot water. Reported it and bar staff not really that bothered. Went out for evening and came back and problem not resolved. Not good enough.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Ok, but not the greatest

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Situated above the pub of the same name, with entry round the back. Room was clean & well-presented. However, when sitting on the bed, there was no support, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable to sleep. The curtains covered the windows, just, but didn't block light, and thus wasn't great with it being summer. When taking a shower, I had to run the hot tap on the sink for at least 5 minutes before it would draw hot water. Pub was ok, but bar staff didn't pay too much attention to their customers, preferring to either chat with known regulars, friends, or focus on the function. Will stay again, but only when tight on funds and in need of somewhere cheap/easy. Close to train station, short walk to McDonalds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2016
If you are looking for some place to chuck your bag in the corner and get your head down for then night this place is fine. Wasn't impressed when reception claimed the price I had booked at was a mistake but they'd let me have it at agreed price as a favour.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Just too basic

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Location?
Cons: Rooms need some basics added.
Location: Very short walk into the town centre. Has parking too which was a plus.
Haven't stayed anywhere before that doesn't have a bedside table or bin or mirror or anywhere to hang anything (not even a hook on the back of a door). Thought it was overpriced for what it was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maidstone

Central location - traffic noise

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Room was nicely decorated and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Shower needs looking at. A bedside table lamp would be nice.
Location: Location was central but very noisy and traffic continued most of the night, therefore didn't get much sleep.
A central location but on busy cross roads therefore was lots of traffic noise throughout the night. Parking was very limited and not easily accessable. No bedside light or chair and the shower was almost useless. However, it was quite nicely done and clean.
3 out of 5
by amanda from stockport

various points of view - cheap and cheerful

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
1 night stay for night out with old work friends. 1. if like me you just wanted a bed and shower and going out late into town, its and ideal place to stay. cheap very clean staff very polite. but it is a working pub so its noisy until closing. 2. i would definately not stay here if i had children (as its close to eureka) or want an early night. 3. will definately book it again, just for me. right opposite marks and spencer so right in the middle of the town/pubs/restuarants.