Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Good location. Quiet area. Staff were excellent. Continental breakfast was o.k.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to bridge to Halifax for easy access.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Quieter air conditioners
No issues with the facility. Nice and quiet and great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! Many travellers find our proximity to the MacKay Bridge to be very convenient. I'm sorry to hear that the air conditioner was noisy, though. We'll look into it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Middle of nowhere but close to the highway.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Location is not bad, clean.
Cons: Soundproofing,
An average hotel that charged a bit too much in terms of stays. Overall clean, but 0 sound proofing as was evidenced by the twit in the room above me (room 209 I assume) stomping like a drunken elephant all over the place at 4am, presumably after he/she had tied one on at the local pub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Carl! I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with noise during your stay. I will pass it on to maintenance. Our quiet hours start at 10pm and we encourage guests to call the front desk with any noise complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Nice clean hotel close to every where

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Staff were very helpful with travel and siteseeing arrangements
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review, Zev! We are very close to downtown Halifax and other popular sightseeing and shopping locations. I'm very pleased to hear that the staff were able to give you a hand with your trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with a great view of the bridge

Posted Jul 8, 2017
To get to the hotel is somewhat different. Nice clean rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed the view of the MacKay Bridge from your room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy Location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: It was a place to lay our heads. Pretty much it.
Cons: Updating from top to bottom would be indicated.
Location: Nothing !!!!!!! Industrial end of Dartmouth.
The pictures of the hotel did not show the industrial location it is in. As for the hotel itself, needs to be upgraded, showing it's age. What hotel put's rubber bath mats out ? God knows how many people have used them before, no thanks. The room was too bright due to outside lighting, window coverings are woefully inadequate . Was quoted $110.00 per night , ended up $137.00. Not happy about that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is true that we are located near the Burnside industrial park and I apologize that wasn't made clearer when you booked. We appreciate the honest feedback regarding the building and rooms and will be taking it into consideration going forward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Jul 5, 2017
A bit expensive for a basic hotel, but great service, comfy and clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review, Jessica! I'm very pleased to hear that you received great service from our staff and that you were happy with your room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

We definitely didn't like that hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: the staff
Cons: the room ,windows air conditionner
Location: there was nothing
noisy, very low standard as for the room and small no table there were very little to be comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, Peggy. I'm glad that you had a positive experience with our staff during your stay but very sorry to hear that the room was not what you were expecting. We do have suites in addition to our regular rooms and they offer more space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth

Quiet room Close to the bridge

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: View of Bedford basin
Cons: Breakfast could be a more thought out the sausages were barely cooked
Location: Not much close by so a I car is a definite must
Quiet room Close to the bridge so it's easy to get both Halifax and Dartmouth Make sure to get a high room on the front of the Hotel Nice view of Bedford basin
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Kristin, GSM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review, Gordon! I'm happy you enjoyed the view our property's hilltop location offers and I'm very sorry about the sausages. I will mention the issue to our breakfast staff to ensure they are not put out in that state going forward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Posted May 3, 2017
Easy access to main thoroughfares, center city & shopping centers Entry & lobby could use some sprucing up
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review, Bill! I'm glad you found our location convenient for your needs! Thank you for the honest feedback about our lobby; we will definitely take it into consideration the next time we do renovations.