Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definite 5 stars with not much shine or thrill!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: * nice staff * size of the hotel area and facilities including pools * scenery
Cons: * food * bed mattress * total face lift of the hotel
Location: Many options on the ground and no need to go far outside the complex. Marmara is one option 2 km away.
Our trip started on the wrong foot as driving from Bulgaria at the border we were asked to pay toll in Euros (cash). No ATM, no debit cards, no BG money. Instead the toll lady encouraged us to start begging the cars behind to do money exchange. That was for "weclome"! (BGL are pegged to the EURO and as good as EUROS.) The Geek government clearly has no clue how it could help its country's tourism. The hotel was nice, large scale park with lots to do for kids and adults. Clean, groomed green grass, glorious lobby and the smile of Abey (the doorman) set the tone for the weekend. The service was consistently professional, although unimpressive. The food was average, but far from bad, and the many pools, nice weather, beach and hospitality made up the difference. I give 5 stars as the overall deal we got through Expedia gave a us a big bang for the buck. However, I can see in the heat of the season how the staff could choke managing a higher volume crowd. This is a great place for kids and what made it even better was the staff who did their best, although it was clear had not been the best trained. The pier, the soccer fields, the free dinner we all nice bonuses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5* Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for choosing Porto Carras Grand Resort for your vacation in beautiful Halkidki. We are glad that your enjoyed your overall stay in our Resort. Also, it is our pleasure that you were extremely satisfied with the facilities, the endless beach and the huge variety of activities. Thank you for recommending Meliton. We are looking forwards to seeing you again soon in Porto Carras Grand Resort for one more integrated experience for you and your family. Kind regards, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5* Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palestine

Very Nice Hotel and close to the beach

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Fantastic, had a great time Rooms are Big enough, Great Breakfast Beautiful location the sea view is suggest great. Feel like heaven on earth. Will go back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Me, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Porto Carras Grand Resort for your vacation in beautiful Halkidiki. We wish to express our gratitude for your kind words . It is our pleasure that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your overall stay at Meliton Hotel. It is of high importance to us when our guests leave with the best impression about our services, facilities and staff. Rest assure that your nice comments will be forwarded to our personnel. Thank you once more for your review. We will be delighted to accommodate you again at Porto Carras Grand Resort. Kind regards, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5*
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sofia

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We, a young family with a kid (3), were staying for ten days in the end of August. It was awesome, the beach, the facilities, the entertainment programs. It is very kidsfriendly place with a garanty for perfect family vacation. Would recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Me, Hotel Management
Dear Valentin, thank you for choosing Porto Carra Grand Resort for your vacation in beautiful Halkidiki. We are glad to read that your children enjoyed our facilities and you were extremely satisfied with the endless beach and the huge variety of entertainment programs . We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future and offering you another rejuvenating experience. Kind regards, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5*
4 out of 5
by charalambos

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Slagjan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richardson, TX

Old Glory

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is an old glory. Not so great anymore and needs a lot of work. Smells bad too. The staff is OK and so is the breakfast. That's pretty much it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for contributing to the profile of Porto Carras Meliton on Expedia. We are really sorry to read your strong words of disappointment. We would really like to apologize about the unpleasant incidents that you encountered. We are struggling to meet and especially exceed our Guests’ expectation, providing an optimum recreational experience and we really agonize about the perceptions and memories received during the stay in our accommodation departments. To conclude, we would like to highlight that every single point mentioned in your comment has been strictly indicated to each Department Manager involved. We would be more than glad to welcome you again in our accommodations, in order to provide you with the integrated historic Porto Carras Grand Resort experience that we are famous of. With much appreciation, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5* Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
staff could be more helpful. place is great, top hotel, but staff could up their game. maybe 1 staff in 10 are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in Porto Carras Grand Resort. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the beauties of our territory and the infrastructure of our historic Resort, which has constantly culminated as a leading luxurious destination in Greece, since ’70. We would be more than happy if you chose Porto Carras Grand Resort for your vacations and we would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. We really wish to welcome you again in Meliton 5*, so that we will be able to provide you the services that we are known for and proud of and contribute into forming the greatest memories from our resort. With much appreciation, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5* Hotel
2 out of 5
by Matthew from New York City

Not 5-star luxury hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
I usually stay in the Porto Carras marina on a boat, but this summer wanted to try out the hotel. I have stayed at many '5-star' luxury hotels & resorts and this is definitely not a 5-star. First upon entering room the air-conditioning was not working properly and telephone was broken. Repairman came quickly though to replace phone and get air working. Second, the lights blew a fuse twice, having the repairman come 3 times total, and the minibar outer door did not close since minibar was too big for space, so in little hallway you had to walk around it. Also Pull-out couch took 2 days for housekeeping to fold back. Third, they make you pay EXTRA to use the gym & indoor pool!! This is not normal for expensive 5-star luxury hotels, all luxury hotels that I have stayed at throughout the world the gym is part of the high price. Fourthly, no one was there to help with bags upon checkin when I entered. Fifth, Food quality was average to poor. There are many small details that can be done to acheive a truly luxury 5-star hotel experience. For all of these reasons this is not 5-star but more a 4-star hotel bordering on 3-star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for constantly choosing Porto Carras Marina and Porto Carras Grand Resort for your accommodation. We would like to sincerely apologize about your poor experience in our Hotel. This is certainly not the standards of quality that we are known for and proud of. During the busy period of August, probably it is about an honest mistake caused by bad timing. Although, we have addressed all the issues highlighted and spoken with all the employees in question. We want you to know that we truly love sharing our passion for our destination with our visitors and we try our best in the effort to satisfy our Guests’ expectations. We really hope to welcome you back in our accommodations and provide you with the high level services, that are the milestone of Porto Carras label. With much appreciation, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5* Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Excellent potential, poor execution.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The location, landscape and views are superb and the management knows it. Unfortunately this is where the WOW factor stops as the service level falls flat. There's a noticeable gap between the concept and the delivery. Except for a few individual initiatives, workers lack the experience or motivation to impress and are indifferent to guests' needs. The hotel has definitely seen better days and it shows. You can feel the heritage behind it and enjoy the fact that you are sharing it with many of the celebrities who'd stayed here. With plenty of beautiful beaches around and more hospitable atmosphere, Porto Carras is not good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Porto Carras Grand Resort for your holidays. We are very proud to hear that you are aware of and appreciate the unique historic character of the Resort. Thought, we are very sorry about the poor experience that you obtained during your stay here and we would like to sincerely apologize about it. Certainly, such level of service may not represent the high standards set by Porto Carras Grand Resort policy. Our main goal is to provide our Guests with the finest, integrated experience so that when they walk out the door to feel recreated and relaxed. We really wish the welcome you again in out Hotel and have the chance to provide you the Porto Carras Grand Resort experience that we are known for and proud of. With much appreciation, Ermioni Spyropoulou Hotel Manager, Porto Carras Meliton 5* Hotel
1 out of 5
by kyriakos from Cyprus

Below of our expectations

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Definitely our experience was not up to a 5-star hotel. Low customer service level, untrained staff, outdated premises.