Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi UAE

Lovely Family run Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The people, the hotel itself, the room, the food, and the honest personable service.
Cons: Don't change a thing.
Location: Location is on a main road, but free parking in tbe back. Closeto a historic schloss with a Christmas market, and Salzburg itself.
From the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted with genuine warm and hospitality by our hostess Margaret. Her family have been running this small hotel for generations, the old family photographs add a feeling that you're in a family home rather than an impersonal hotel. Breakfast was included, and was more than generous. The room, though basic, was perfectly sufficient for the one night we stayed. We left happy, and would book here again without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2016 by Margret, Hotel Management
dear Fam. Neil, thank you so much for your good recommend, we are very happy.Margret and Family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma.

Princess Margaret deserves her name!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
We were treated with some of the most helpful advice and service by the entire hotel staff and especially Margaret, who helped us on a daily basis in order to make sure our plans worked out. All (ten) of us were pleased by our stay and would stay again at this hotel. Pluses: bus stop in front of hotel for inexpensive ride into Salzburg. Large and interesting breakfasts. Extremely clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by Margret, Hotel Management
thank you so much for your lovely Review. Margret
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay, good experience

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We only stayed in this hotel for one night as we were passing through the Salzburg area on our way back to Prague but after our interactions with the staff, I wish we stayed longer. The hotel was nicely decorated and the woman who greeted us was so sweet and kind. She really made us feel welcome. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was large enough for our needs. Breakfast was included and was plentiful. Again, the woman who greeted us continued to show true hospitality in the morning. I wish I had gotten her name. The hotel is only 3 km from downtown Hallein and it was easy to access. Parking was free and part of the hotel grounds are also used for camping. We enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely come back if we were in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay, but great experience

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The staff were extremely kind.
We only stayed in this hotel for one night as we were passing through the Salzburg area on our way back to Prague but after our interactions with the staff, I wish we stayed longer. The hotel was nicely decorated and the woman who greeted us was so sweet and kind. She really made us feel welcome. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was large enough for our needs. Breakfast was included and was plentiful. Again, the woman who greeted us continued to show true hospitality in the morning. I wish I had gotten her name. The hotel is only 3 km from downtown Hallein and it was easy to access. Parking was free and part of the hotel grounds are also used for camping. We enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely come back if we were in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Very welcoming

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Cons: The road can be quite noisy when you sleep with the windows open; it didn't help that it was a Saturday night, but there is not much you can do about.
We had only booked this hotel for one night as we wanted to stay close to the salt mine in Berchtesgaden. After a long trip on the road - coming from Italy - this place was heaven. We received a very friendly welcome from the staff who had been waiting for us so we could still have a nice warm meal past 9pm. The room was huge and everything was clean. In the morning we had the most interesting boutique style breakfast ever. Seemed like you could choose from a hundred different things: bread, Broetchen, cake, cereals, spreads, different sausages and cheese, eggs, but also tiny containers with yummy apple sauce and Marillen Topfen (Quark in Germany, let's just say something similar to yoghurt...), juices... you name it, it was there; and all with the typical Austrian flair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Auwirt, Hotel Management
dear Ani, thank you so much for your good recommend. Fam. Reiter
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near Salzburg.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We (family of four) stayed in an apartment at Hotel Auwirt. The apartment was modern, clean, provided typical Eurpean breakfast and large. In a word, it was perfect for our Salzburg holiday. You should consider this hotel if you are in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2015 by Auwirt, Hotel Management
thank you so much for your good recommend. Fam. Reiter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Good overnight hotel

Posted May 28, 2013
We stayed in main hotel. There is an anex with appartments on which I cannot comment. Overall a good short stay hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Germany

Will definitely go back!

Posted Oct 12, 2011
Hotel Auwirt was a great place to stay during our trip to Salzburg. You can take a bus that stops very near to the hotel into Salzburg and have no worries about parking your car. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the dinner meals we ate there were delicious. Best of all, it is a family run business and they are a delightful family. Very hospitable and helpful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma

Hotel essenziale gestito unitamente ad un camping

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: la tranquillità e l'ambiente familiare
Location: Hotel sulla strada.E'necessario spostarsi a Salisburgo.
Hotel un po'semplice non provvisto di tutti i confort,ma nel complesso gradevole
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Strutture originale e confortevole,

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Posizione ottimale, appartamento molto comodo e bello, ambiente confortevole e familiare, proprietarie della massima disponibilità e gentilezza, ristorante accogliente e all'altezza. Un punto di riferimento assolutamente consigliabile