Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Wim

Needs a serious update and reorganization

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
This place looks nice from the outside but is horrible on the inside. Old and smelly rooms. Needs a serious update! We were on a Family holiday and brought our dog, as requested. We paid for it and it was no problem BUT he could only stay in the room. He wasn't allowed in the restaurant or any where else. Therefor we had to eat in the basement/ cafe we there was no service and had to go upstairs for our food. Dinner was also bad. We had to order the entire menu at our arrival and had to be in the basement at 18u30 ( 19u wasn't possible because it was crowded ( 4 tables of 2 persons ) . Not a issue...but we arrived in time and they served our food at 20u00. I'm so sorry to say it was a disaster and the food wasn't good. So no, not pet friendly, no on comfort , no on everything.
4 out of 5
by Hans

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We really enjoyed the sauna and pool.
2 out of 5
by Cora

Not a 4* hotel

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
The persons managing the Hotel Hesborner Kuckuck are nice but the hotel is pricey and outdated. This place is far from being 4 stars. Finally, don't book the Mountain View, this was a waist of money. The only good thing from our stay was the breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Nowhere near 4 star hotel!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Clean enough but way below par for 4 star. If heading to winterburg, avoid this hotel. Towels were so old they had holes in, bedding and pillows were just as old and can't believe the terrible state of the pillows! Noisy between rooms, and cold room when we arrived so we needed to put heating on full and still cold through night. Dated decore apart from pool area although pool is small and cold! As was the one shower and smallest changing room and toilet. Disappointing breakfast and not free WiFi as advertised. Would not recommend for a young family. Head to winterburg centre for better and similarly priced hotels. Very dissopinting stay overall.
5 out of 5
by 'The Walker's from York

Fantastic service

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels
We had a fabulous 2 day stay. Good location forus near to Winterberg in the Harz mountains.The staff were very friendly and really looked after us. The food was great. The Hotel had a great swimming/spa area, so was very relaxing.Overall a hotel I would definately return to for longer than 2 nights.
5 out of 5
by Arthur C

Perfect place to stay

Posted Feb 8, 2013 on Hotels
It was perfect!, Very nice, friendly staff. Clean and big rooms. Good breakfastbuffet. It's really a very good hotel !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enttäuschend

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Location: bei Winterberg
Ich hatte mir mehr davon versprochen. Preis Leistungsverhältnis stimmt nicht. Zimmer klein und altbacken.Das Essen hat uns auch nicht überzeugt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Barendrecht

Mooi en rustig gelegen hotel.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: De rustige ligging dichtbij wandelroutes. Je kunt vanuit het hotel zo wandelen naar het startpunt van vele gemarkeerde wandelroutes.
Cons: De eerste avond hebben wij in het hotel gegeten. De kwaliteit vonden wij niet zo goed.
Location: Wandelroutes vanuit het hotel. Winterberg ligt op 10 km. Dat is een leuk stadje met winkels en restaurants.
Het hotel ligt rustig op een mooie plek dichtbij wandelroutes die goed gemarkeerd staan. Personeel is vriendelijk, (avond)eten in het hotel vonden wij niet zo geweldig, ontbijt was prima.