Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu

Amazing experience!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: The company is a relatively small local business. The employees whom we met were all great.
My family of six and I spent an unforgettable one night/two days on one of the Annam Junks. Our guide James and the Crew were simply outstanding. The junk was clean and inviting, the programs were well organized and the food..well, incredible!!;) My family (age between 3 and 76) and a very nice French couple were the only guests on the junk, and that made the whole experience truly special and personal. We organized this trip privately (via Expedia) as an overnight port excursion while on a Celebrity Cruise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing trip through Ha Long Bay on a Junk

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: The chef creates amazing flower carvings out of carrots, radishes, etc.
Cons: Wifi would be nice
Location: You're there already.
The staff bends over backwards to make your experience the best it could be. The tour guide overdoes it a bit by trying to get everyone to go on every excursion ( kayaking, swimming, hiking) Just say NO if you prefer to have some quiet time on the boat instead. That quiet time is VERY relaxing ;-) Wifi is absent on this boat, even though it's supposed to have some. If you absolutely NEED to be connected, this boat isn't for you; otherwise you'll get used to it and start to appreciate being off-grid !
5 out of 5
by Avy from Sydney

Great location, beautiful view, friendly staff

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
It was great, the view was breath taking. The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious.......
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Annie from Carey

Great way to see Halong Bay

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
With all the cruises out there, we took a chance on Annam. We are pleased with our decision! Transport to/return Hanoi was timely. We opted for a deluxe room (upper deck with access to balcony). Lots of space on the boat. Food was great and plentiful. Prices for drinks was very reasonable. 2D1N cruise allowed for a fishing village and cave but felt a bit rushed at times. This was a bit quieter than other boats, total 8 ppl onboard. Personally, we preferred this. Overall a bit expensive but enjoyable and cheaper than other options without sacrificing quality.
1 out of 5
by Tami from Shanghai

Failed to Live up to Expectations

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels
This company gets a big "NO" in my book. Halong Bay is absolutely gorgeous and definitely must-see, but Annam needs some better management and procedures. Some major issues with this company are: 1) transportation from Hanoi, which is included, is incredibly disorganized, 2) no drinking water is provided at any time during the cruise, it must be purchased. 3) there are no pricelists given for any of the drinks on board until you receive the final check (note: no drinks are included at any point during the cruise other than tea/coffee at breakfast), 4) the rooms are not at all like pictured (they were however surprisingly clean) 5) The air conditioner in our room was so loud it could not be used while trying to sleep. All in all, I feel like Annam was misleading in their services and inclusions and would not recommend them.
3 out of 5
by Edwin from London

2 night cruise

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels
Great experience but watch Out for extra's, you are Locked in...$35 for a bottle of wine and $7 for opening a bottle of wine if you bring your own, $7 for a cocktail. Also staff was asking extra for entry to stops along the route like the caves and the floating village and other, it was not made clear at all that these charges were applied on booking and confirmation. Also make sure you are aware that a tourist tax is charged before you board, about 450000vnd for 2 nights, at the departure point. Shame about the filthy waters! A clean up and keep clean operation is well overdue
4 out of 5
by Raphael from Singapore

Good Halong Bay Experience

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels
The tour guide was friendly and the junk ride was memorable. Breathtaking scenery. The tour program covered the popular destinations of Halong Bay. The on-board food wasn't great at all though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Singapore

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: nice and friendly staff. Well furnished room.
The 2D1N cruise on Annam Junk was wonderful. The room was nice and cosy. Nice and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ina from Germany

Nice boat for a one night stay

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: The all included package
Cons: The showers, because it flooded the entire Bathroom
Location: As all activities are included, you don't need to program anything else.
The boat was ok. The service around the boat very good. The transportation from/ to Hanoi was included as well as all the programs on the boat and activities at Halong Bay (with guide). The food was amazing!