Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

AVOID.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Lobby is fancy but that's about where it ends. Rooms are outdated. Bed hard as a rock (not even exaggerating) Showerhead in bathtub facing the wrong direction so water sprays on the floor. Base of bathtub was rusted and disgusting. Blanket had a stain on the inside. Gross. The "restaurant" struggled to cook lunch for our group and literally handed out one dish at a time. The quality of the food was so far beyond poor. Booked a tour through the hotel duty manager and basically got ripped off from start to finish. Completely disappointed in the whole experience. I would rate them a zero if I could. AVOID.
1 out of 5
by CW from Denver, Colorado

Overpriced and bad service

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here after our Halong tour was cancelled. The rooms were ok and in good condition but everything else was awful. The hotel is overpriced for what you get. The staff was very rude to us at check in, did not offer to take our bags to the room even though 5 staff members were standing around in the area. The food was bad in the restaurant, the pool was dirty and no towels were available in the pool area. We tried to check out the "mysterious bar" on the third floor and found a dark room cluttered with old exercise equipment instead. Maybe thats the mysterious part?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels
The Hotel is really old and very bad standard. The beds were horrible and the hotel felt like a ghost town. Not what it looks like on pictures.
3 out of 5
by Greg & Caroline from Austraila

Rooms do not match the foyer apperance

Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels
On arrival you enter a grand foyer and then it is all down hill from there. The rooms had an odour of bleach which was very overpowering. The bed very uncomfortable and the rooms very dated, through back to the 80's!. Breakie is something else..no cereal, cordial orange juice etc. It is central to the boats/junks departure. Staff speak very little English...tried to order a drink at the bar and I had 5 staff trying to work out what I needed?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Asean Halong - value for money

Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels
when booked on line should prompt us that we entitled to discount for Halong bay cruise and can arrange by the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Away from the action

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels
This is tourist bus hotel. Pretty good distance from the old city and new restaurants. There were many nice small hotels in Halong City at a fraction of the price but were not available through hotels.com. Great view of the bay!
3 out of 5
by AMK27

About as average as it gets

Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels
Pros: The rooms are fairly basic and standard. The view, however, of Ha Long Bay was fairly nice. The reception also pointed us to places of interest in Ha Long City, which are not available on most tours you purchase of Ha Long Bay, as we learned when we compared notes with other travelers. Though it seems to be a distance from the city, there is a small back road that leads you right to the beach and is a 10 min walk, as any staff member will point out. There was also WiFi available in the room, so accessing online maps was convenient. Cons: The complimentary breakfast was terrible. Not only was the selection poor, but the quality in comparison to other Vietnamese hotels was not very good. Furthermore, a majority of the staff did not speak very much English, thus leaving us to rely on a particular staff member to explain things to us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Asean Hotel in Halong Bay

Posted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels
The location is on the hill, it is not convenient to go to the beach. The breakfast buffet is bad. Not too much selection. The Staff is friendly althought they are not fluency in english.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels
What a wonderful experience. Arrived a day early hoping to find a room in our hotel. We were in luck, a person checked out that afternoon, otherwise none available. Wonderful staff and friendly. Vue was the person that made us feel welcomed and went out of his way to provide us with the ultimate in customer service. Thank you Vue, you were great. I do recommend this hotel.