Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Tomasz

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is old with outdated bathroom with a disgusting & moldy shower curtain. Bed and pillow very firm - felt like sleeping on a floor. Receptionists are friendly, but barely speak English, which caused some issues with our airport transportation booking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Beautiful spacious rooms with king size beds. Cons: Hotel advertised that they had a spa and fitness facility. Their staff old me it was closed When I asked where it was. When I looked for it and couldn't find it they then told informed me they didn't have one.... very dissapointing. Location is terrible, surrounded by a shanty ghetto.
2 out of 5
by Gianni from Vina del Mar, Chile

Not much to do

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
I book the hotel since there was a SPA and a pool, well none of them where working [Don't know if Hotels.com or hotel not showing the right information] I went in low season and really there is no need to stay in Halong Bay, I would recommend to take a tour from Hanoi [day trip, 1 night or 2 in the Boats]. There is no much to do and the closer airport is 2-3 hrs away [around 50-60 USD] Definitely I recommend the Halong bay experience in the ocean, but in the city not much to do
4 out of 5
by b.bowker from catba

not much here

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels
staff were excellent and the rooms and restaurant were great but halong itself is very dull with absolutely nothing to see or do.
3 out of 5
by Jojo260 from Vietnam

Poor service

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
The service was not great. With a couple of incidents making this hotel the worse one we stayed in during our trip x
3 out of 5
by mmxxii from SLC, UT

not bad but stop acting 5 star

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
hotel is not as big a deal from the main road and "beach" as others said. the hotel was good, the pool is an after thought that is in fact out front/side of hotel but we enjoyed it very much. maybe just because we are experienced travellers and and are grateful when we have things like a pool and an excellent view from what you paid (not allowed to say how much but it was great) The people in Halong area were not at all nice and I would not go back to the area at all. wish I had just been happy seeing pics of it for all the hassle getting there and back (not an easy ride there on shared mini-bus)
5 out of 5
by Rosie Lee from Coventry, UK

Fantastic!

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels
Really great stay! Room a lot bigger than we thought! Service was great! Rooms cleaned daily, bath robes, slippers etc. Surrounding area has everything you need at all different price ranges. Night market and beach are less than a minute walk from hotel and there are plenty of tour places around with the boat port (where the bay tours lead from) is within walking distance too. Definitely recomend!
4 out of 5
by Vin from Singapore

Pleasant stay at Starcity

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel location was great but not beside of the main road. Need to walk in around 5 mins and walking distance to Halong night market. Service was excelent and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Andy from Thailand-Germany

Friendly Hotel, good for one night

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels
Starcity shares the problem of the whole region: Nobody will stay there longer than two nights - people visit Halong Bay on boat cruise (1 or two nights) and have one overnight stay before or after the cruise. Starcity is nice and rather well located, as a taxi can bring you anywhere you like. Breakfast was ok, but not very western, as they accomodate 95% Chinese and other Aseans. But a backpacker can easily survive - rooms are big enough, the view is ok (if the weather is on your side), staff is friendly (but speaks no English) and the restaurant in the hotel and all restaurants around the hotel are good and cheap. Starcity has got the charme of the seventies, but this common to almost all hotels in the area. Tourism industry has changed the flair over the years. Finally, we can recommend it and would come back.
3 out of 5
by Chen from Singapore

Location is alright only

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is in a small road with piece of empty land in front of it. Still relatively close to night market. Pool pictures on website are so deceiving, its a standalone outdoor pool by the side of the carpark. Breakfast is acceptable. Hotel mainly catered for tour groups.