Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to our needs.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very nice olde world inn , staff very friendly and polite, room nice.and clean,could have had proper shower instelad of a massive bath but that was nothing just a thought , breakfast was excellent and plenty of everything.All round we had a lovely stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pub okay; room could be better

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Old pub / hotel with lots of character. Helpful staff. Food just okay; breakfasts average at best. My room - kettle missing (later provided after I asked), heating not working in small en-suite and the shower was broken. Neither were fixed during my week stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good breakfast sub standard

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
The room was smelly holes in carpet marks on the wall mould on walls in the shower would not stay here again or recommend it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crewe Cheshire

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Own car park pub facilities breakfast included.
Location: Central for many places of interest also large shopping complex not far away.
Friendly staff room compact but comfy. Hairdryer iron and ironing board provided also toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and a large choice not just a full English. Plenty of seating outside. We did not eat at the pub but spoke to others and they recommended it. Overall we would stay here again. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
by Philip M from La Valette (87) France.

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
It was only one night so all rather quick but very central in a quaint town. It happened to be during a very hot spell so the double room (I think #3) with only one person and only two small windows became very hot, it was necessary to sleep with the door open !! Cannot blame the hotel, I was in the main original building and the weather was abnormally hot.
4 out of 5
by Kerina from Leigh on Sea

Great little old inn

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
We was atteding a 40th birthday party at The Braintree Golf Club, this hotel was a great location for the place, very comfortable, great breakfast, friendly staff and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Ruth from Madrid

Hotel correcto en edificio singular

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel correcto para su precio.Buen servicio.Limpio.Pintorésco.
4 out of 5
by Philip from Gainsborough, Lincolnshire

Good but could be better

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed previously and were happy with accommodation and therefore booked again. Unfortunately there were a few problems on this occasion - no hot water and heating on one morning, a malfunctioning kettle and missing bulb from side lamp. Most of these were sorted but there was a feeling that standards had slipped. Great staff however- always pleasant and helpful. Also lovely food which was reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
by Cliff from Durham

Bad Food

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms ok, Food is disgusting fish was over cooked, table next to us his food was still frozen in middle. DO NOT EAT IN HOTEL.