Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ashford

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
We stayed in a oldie woldy part of the hotel very warm room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really lovely hotel and helpful staff

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Hi, you keep asking me to review this hotel! They were absolutely lovely, gave me information about local taxi companies and I hear the breakfasts are amazing! I booked a room to stay in after a wedding, but was offered a room at the venue So I Didn't Stay There!!! They were wonderful when I rang to cancel and even asked how my friend's wedding went. Exceptional customer service, many thanks!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woking surrey

A very pleasant stay

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The staff and the food also the location in the town.
Cons: No a lot because room size is fixed
Location: th town is very attractive but we had little time to explore further
The staff were very good as was the food, however our room was quite small but OK fer a short stay.
4 out of 5
by Philip

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly helpful staff , room was ok but not great. However reception dealt with our comments. Room clean and tidy. Pub food both evening and breakfast was very nice. Sadly a little old and tired and in need of a refurb but otherwise quite pleasant. Halstead seems a nice place .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down and basic

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Our 2 rooms smelt like a teenage boys bedroom. Not pleasent. Very run down but comfortable bed. No step in shower in out room. Only a bath with a shower attachment on bath taps. We had to wait 25 minutes for a hot drink at breakfast to arrive. Food at breakfast very good. Not bed for the price if you just need somewhere to lay your head.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay lovely helpful staff especially when with the busy car park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Bull Hotel, Halstead

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Interesrting old building with crooked floors.
Cons: When restaurant was busy insufficient staff
Location: attractive countryside thereabouts
Welcoming, friendly staff. Good value. Good breakfast. Good dinner excaept my steak was tepid.
5 out of 5
by S R

Recommended

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staying overnight, as in town for a wedding anniversary. Reception staff friendly and efficient. Very impressed that they could cram modern amenities into such an oddly-shaped old building! Only minus point in room was a loose toilet seat but otherwise great. Again, being such an old building, it was not built for the disabled but we managed to cope OK. A few pub goers were a bit "gobby" when leaving but not a particular problem. Breakfast choice was very good, plentiful and well cooked. Staff were particularly helpful and friendly. Would recommend and definitely stay there again if we go back to Halstead for more than a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

plenty of character

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The old building
Location: Small High Street and Antique centre close by.
Spent 1 night, typical old beamed building floors/stairs uneven. Small room but ok for 1 nights stay, clean and comfortable bed. Nice breakfast and staff very helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels