Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
The room was pretty dirty. Mildew covering the bath and the toilet was disgusting. The walls had chunks of paint missing. The lady who checked us in was also pretty miserable. However the other staff were very friendly. The beds were comfortable. But the price was pretty reasonable.
1 out of 5
by Not Provided from Fife scotland


Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Sorry but wasent impressed with this hotel.u came in by back door the outside is a disgrace. There is a damp smell leading up to rooms.very old decor and badly needing a refurbished.there is mould around bath and shower rail.room was very cold as there is only a small heater in room and wasent on for our arrival.we were never asked if room was OK or if we needed anything.poor poor poor.
3 out of 5
by Will from Rugby


Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was ok but no soap or shower gel.
4 out of 5
by Ray from Sunderland

Loved it

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was amazing value the rooms were basic but I expected that for the price everything else was top notch I had a great stay thanks
4 out of 5
by Lauren from London

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wedding to attend in the area, so needed somewhere cheap and cheerful. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome by Jane and that warmth continued throughout our stay. The room we stayed in, had all the amenities we needed, it was clean and warm. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and would definitely stay again. Good breakfast selection provided also.
5 out of 5
by roy from London

A surprise party

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
The Dog inn staff made us very welcome the room was very clean & comfortable and we would recommend the Dog inn to all our friends thank you .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient for Town Centre

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: The carpets in the room were quite old and worn and the bed was not particularly comfortable.
We stayed here just for one night as we were attending a party in the town. We didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep. The room was basic and a bit tired but very clean with tea and coffee making equipment and TV. Overall we found it good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning was lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair Value

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
All good for the value for money ..it is what it is a pub with rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good location for us

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The location was good for us as we were there for a family wedding. It was a nice local pub.
Cons: Yes it needs quite a lot of work done, eg my curtain track was hanging off the wall.
Location: Halstead is a nice town, I don 't know about things to do as we were only there for the weddings do wanted to spend time with family.
I understand that this pub has been recently taken over, the landlady was away but the people in charge did very well, were pleasant and served us a good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home from Home

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Home from home
We stayed 2 nights for a wedding. Staff were lovely, breakfast was great and roomwas comfortable and clean. Would definitely stay again.