Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service and attitude, would not return.

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was taken to the room, which was somewhat cramped with ever-so-slightly grubby duvets and extremely thin pillows. All acceptable problems I was prepared to deal with (as was the remote for the oddly-placed tele being dead, but that's me being picky) and I was even able to accept the fact that the shower had two settings - literally scalding (the red of my hand taking hours to go down) or too cold to use. The real problem came when I was told I could use my key on the rear door at any time, to come and go as I please: that was great as I was filming at a castle round the corner. I returned just after 1:30am to find the rear door had been locked (a Yale lock, with the slider set so you can't use your key). I checked the front door, which was obviously also locked and checked the two fire doors I could find as well (not expecting to be able to use them), I knocked on each of them, hoping someone would notice and even tried to call in my desperation. The temperature was below zero and I couldn't get in, meaning I was left to sleep in my car and hope I didn't get ill. I used the data on my phone to send an e-mail asking them to call me when I could re-enter to collect my things and check-out. When I was able to get back in, I had to phone to speak to someone and they refused to speak in person, kept blaming me and asked what efforts I'd made to get in, whilst repeating it's not their fault that the door was locked and refused to return my money for even that one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As I explained to you, when you became aggressive and started using the F word, the door was left for you to access as it was the previous 2 nights you got in and out OK. Also on that evening we had other guest who accessed the building after we closed, with no problem. Maybe you decided to stay out all night and wanted a refund, I don't know, but all I can tell you, as I explained to you, was that the door was accessible. As for your other comments, please read the other reviews and you will see we don't put grubby bedding on the beds, the laundry is done by a professional outside company. On checking the TV remote it only needed new batteries, which you could have came down and asked for. The TV is located on the wall opposite the 2 single beds, how is this oddly placed? We have no problem with the shower in that room, actually all of the units are new (6 months).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights. The room was spotless but very basic. Having no cook was a great disappointment. Apart from warm toast everything was cold. Although pleasant the bar was sparsely stocked. Have stayed before a couple of years ago. But would probably opt for another place in the village if we stayed again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As you stated our rooms are clean, we supply tea and coffee making facilities in the room and toiletries. It clearly states on every booking site we are on, including Hotels.com which you booked through, that the breakfast is CONTINENTAL, please read the site before you book then moan what a great disappointment it was on review sites. You also had the option of booking room only, enabling you to go to one of the numerous cafe's in the town, you chose to book CONTINENTAL breakfast. The bar is stocked with what we sell on a regular basis in a small town. Enjoy you stay elsewhere next time, but please actually read the information before you book to avoid a great disappointment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Didn't get a good sleep. Walls then, bed uncomfortable
Uncomfortable bed you could feel springs through mattress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Cheap and Cheerful, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review. We have had no complaints about the bed in your room before, in fact a few guests have remarked how comfortable it is. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the thickness of the walls.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

We advise against this 'hotel'.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Nothing! See why below. Be content with this.
Cons: They were unprepared for us. The facility advertises a restaurant which they do not have. The room faced a noisy street.
Location: Hadrian's wall is within driving range.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Prepared for every guest, even th obnoxious ones, Hotel Management
How exactly is greeting you at the door, checking you in, giving you your key and showing you to your room within a few minutes being unprepared for you? We do not advertise on any booking site that we operate the restaurant, as explained to you we do not have a chef at the moment so don't do evening meals. Why exactly would you expect evening meals, you booked on a B&B basis and your received B&B. The double room you had was on the third floor facing the street. Haltwhistle is a small town, not a major city, the street is hardly noisy on a weeknight apart from the expected traffic which is minimal. I suggest next time you book a B&B in a quiet rural village with no noise. Be content with this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed there as we were on our way back from a funeral in Scotland, would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

haltwhistle hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nice location for fishing
i have stopped in a lot of places round the world some good some bad, this was poor the hotel smelt musty very old furniture they advertise B@B but they do not tell you it is a continental breakfast until you book which is misleading the lady host was pleasent but on the whole i was very dissapointed not good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Clean/Owner of a freshly scented hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As you didn't mention any of these issues during your stay or on check-out, but chose to post them on a public forum, I am forced to respond to you on the same public forum. We are a B&B, a B&B that offers a continental breakfast, where is it written in stone we have to provide a Full English. It is clearly stated on E-Bookers that the breakfast is continental, therefore your point about misleading you and not telling you until you book is simply wrong. If you wanted a Full English, you were very welcome to book elsewhere, or mention it to me on check in as we do offer a cheaper room only option enabling you to use the numerous cafe's in Haltwhistle for a Full English. All I can say to your point about the hotel smelling musty is that I pride myself on the cleanliness of the rooms and common areas which are cleaned every day and windows opened to let fresh air circulate. My guests comments on leaving and other reviews state the hotel is fresh and clean. I think because you didn't get a full breakfast this has influenced your spiteful review. We represent very good value for money in a tourist area and you will find us competitively priced with the other properties in Haltwhistle. Once again thank you for your review, but maybe next time you have issues with a hotel you will at least speak to the owner/manager direct so they may address these issues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had a friendly welcome, but were surprised to be asked to pay cash- in- advance on arrival, as there was no facility to pay by card as expected. Fortunately it was not a problem as a cash machine was close by. The hotel has no chef at the moment, but there were plenty of eateries in town. The 'continental breakfast' was delicious. We were able to leave the car parked safely while we took the train for a day out in Newcastle.