Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bland, VA

All in all a pleasant stay

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Central location, good breakfast buffet, free ticket for subway/tram
Cons: Making rooms available by noon at the latest and not 3 pm
Location: Centrally located, much to see, train and subway station just across the street from the hotel, nice restaurants within walking distance
The location of the hotel in the center of Hamburg, friendliness of the staff and breakfasts were all very good to excellent. The single large negative aspect was the fact that rooms are not available until 3 pm. After an overseas flight, I arrived at the hotel at 9 am and there was no place to rest or wait except at the hotel bar. Not nice for a tired senior citizen. After my repeated urging, my room was made available by 1:30 pm. Could have been better. Management should be aware of this problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Alsterkrug Team, Hotel Management
Dear Marianna, Thank you for having been our guest! Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. If we can be of assistance in the future, we are always there for you and we hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best wishes, Your Alsterkrug Team
4 out of 5
by Beat

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Alsterkrug Team, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns bewertet haben. Wir schätzen Sie als unseren Gast, und wir hoffen, Sie hatten einen angenehmen Aufenthalt bei uns. Wenn wir Ihnen in Zukunft in irgendeiner Form behilflich sein können, sind wir gern für Sie da und wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen Ihr Alsterkrug Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Convenient to the airport

Posted Aug 11, 2016
This hotel is just minutes from the airport. There is a direct bus line into the city very close to the hotel which was very convenient. Beds were great and overall, it was quite perfect for us
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Alsterkrug Team, Hotel Management
Dear Monica, Thank you for having been our guest and your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. If we can be of assistance in the future, we are always there for you and we hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best wishes, Your Alsterkrug Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Clean, new rooms, friendly and helpful staff, located close to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Alsterkrug Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for having been our guest and your positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Alsterkrug Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again! Sunny wishes, Your Alsterkrug Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel: staff provided excellent service

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Loved the fact guests can use public transit free. Room neat and clean. Restaurant food and service great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Alsterkrug Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for having been our guest and we appreciate your positive feedback! As a family-run private hotel we attach great importance to our philosophy of hospitality and personal service that's why we are very happy about your compliments in regard to our colleagues! It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Alsterkrug Hotel and that you were satisfied with our included ticket for Hamburg's public transport and your room type. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and we wish you a pleasant weekend! Best wishes, Your Alsterkrug Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Raghuram from Bangalore

Very good hotel if you have work in that area

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in this hotel as it was close to where I had to visit on business. The hotel is closer to the airport and quite far from the city center. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel which is convenient.If you know how to use the public transport, then you are quite mobile as you get a free card that you can use. There is not much to do near the hotel. The breakfast was quite good and the dinner I had in a restaurant close to the hotel (operated by them) was very nice. Overall, I had an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Kohlberg Bavaria

Wonderful stay

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Room was very clean and as described on line. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking is difficult but not unusual in Germany. Sets on a main bus line and not a bad walk to the train for easy access anywhere in the city.
4 out of 5
by Graeme from Leeds

Nice Hotel Well Worth A Stay

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Close to the airport and stayed for one night, overall a very nice hotel although the Wi-Fi whilst free was not the fastest but good enough for emailing etc but this is a very small criticism and would certainly stop here again.